Marche Jean-Talon in Montreal: deliciously colorful


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
October 19th 2009
Published: October 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Marche Jean-Talon was SENSATIONAL!

You are probably thinking that my view of a trip to a produce market is biased, since I am a dietician. Yes, the market is a dietitian's paradise, but, the morning at the Market Jean-Talon was so much more than a delight to my senses.

It was colorful and delicious, but it was also a dive, or a peek, into the the world of many locals.

I learned so much as...

- I saw what people bought to eat, and more impressive, what they were going to cook. Everything was fresh and raw. Impressive to see people carring bags, carts, bike baskets and even strollers, FILLED with fresh produce. So, many locals actually take the time to COOK from scratch!

-I observed familes at play. So many kids were at the market with family members, many with their dads.

- I marvelled as I saw kids eating fruit and vegetables. I didn't see a single one eating candy or sweets! What a different world!


There were old and young people. Canadians, Orientals, Latin... a true melting pot.

Needless to say, by the number hours I spent there and the number of pictures I took, the place cast a spell on me.

Montreal has many markets. I got to see other smaller ones and I heard about bigger ones. Anyone who visits he city should definately plan on going to a market to eat and people watch as you eat some of the delicious produce, or French bread, and sip a warm cup of coffee or wine.

Hoping you are enjoying a good meal, drink or snack.
Bon Appetit!

Patricia

-


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



22nd October 2009

great photos!
24th October 2009

well done!
You have captured the culture and diversity in all its colors. Splendid pictures. Glad you enjoyed Montreal. Patricia (RD from Montreal)
25th October 2009

Glad you had fun!
Pipoca, Ta tirando cada foto, deu ate vontade de comer tudo. bjao.

Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 18; qc: 118; dbt: 0.142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb