My first weekend in Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
March 29th 2009
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My bedMy bedMy bed

This is my bed :)
Yesterday the Dion’s took me about 15 minutes out of town. It was really nice seeing the country side and everything.

When we got there we jumped on a four wheel motor bike and headed into a forest that was thick with snow. In the forest we went to the Dion’s friends log Cabin for lunch. It was really cool. There was so much snow compared to where the Dion’s lived.

We then walked into the forest a bit more until we got to a small sugar shack. A sugar shack is where they make maple syrup. There wasn’t much to see but we got to taste some maple syrup and it tasted so good!!! We also tasted some of the sap from the trees that they then make into maple syrup. It just tasted like sugar and water.

When we got back to the cabin we boiled up some maple syrup. They then poured in the snow to set. We then had to wait about 10 seconds and then we twirled the now chewy toffee around the spoon and ate it!! It was so so so GOOD!!! Definitely something I will try again when I get back!!!
The country sideThe country sideThe country side

this is taken from the peoples place that own the log cabin


After stuffing our faces we walked back out of the forest. I hadn’t fallen over all day and I was so proud of myself. When we were about 100m from where the snow stopped I slipped on an icy patch and landed flat on my bum!! It hurt but I laughed so much!!

When we got home we got ready and walked around to the Dion’s good friends the Keenan’s for dinner. They have a really nice house and they are really nice people. They are all bilingual because the dad Kevin came from Toronto. They then put on the movie Australia for me so I watched that. 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

BarnBarn
Barn

this is also taken from there place
Delphine Delphine
Delphine

This is Delphine the youngest on the back of the motor bike
The forest The forest
The forest

This is the forest the log cabin and sugar shack are in
Me and RaphMe and Raph
Me and Raph

This is us on the motorbike
The Log CabinThe Log Cabin
The Log Cabin

This is where we ate lunch
The forestThe forest
The forest

This is the forest we walked through
Sugar shackSugar shack
Sugar shack

This is where they boil the maple syrup
Me, Raph and DelphineMe, Raph and Delphine
Me, Raph and Delphine

sitting around the fire
Log CabinLog Cabin
Log Cabin

This is inside the Log Cabin
drink sapdrink sap
drink sap

Me drinking the sap from the trees that is then made into maple syrup
CabinCabin
Cabin

the log cabin again
eating toffeeeating toffee
eating toffee

Eating maple syrup that has been put in the snow and has become toffee
forestforest
forest

the forest again
My Class My Class
My Class

this is my calss at school
Making sugar pieMaking sugar pie
Making sugar pie

Me, Raphaelle and Delphine making sugar pie.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb