Montreal


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
June 11th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So here is the promised blog on Montreal, just to show that I did some stuff other than watch the F1!!

In total I had 4 full days in Canada, and bearing in mind that I was occupied with the cars from 9-5 most days.... it didn't leave me much time to see the city. Now Montreal is a place I've always wanted to visit. Ever since I was introduced to the world of motor racing and the Villeneuve family I've known that one day I would turn up here. And turn up I did. After an 8 hour flight (I think, I'm not too sure, I was playing cards the whole way) I arrived at my hostel, having already realised that I was not going to understand the french they talk here. I tried, I really did. But it's just such an ugly accent, and they talk so fast... even faster than me. I did get better at understanding as the time went on, and was even able to maintain full blown conversations... but give me the language of the Metropole any day (and it's not often that I say that!)

So anyway, I arrived on Thurs evening, and decided not to waste time sleeping or refreshing my batteries, so I consulted my guide book and headed off into the night. The plan? Well I intended to get the Metro downtown... but someone doesn't know her left and right... so instead of heading to the Metro I was walking away from it... Obviously most sensible people would realise the mistake when noticing that the road names weren't matching up. I however was just convinced that the 2 maps I had consulted had both put my hostel in the wrong place and that the Metro was just a bit further away than I originally thought.... It wasn't all bad news tho, as I randomly stumbled onto Boulevard St. Laurent (the main street which divides the city North and South) which was closed off for Grand Prix festivities and was full of street vendors etc. Somehow, and Lord only knows how, I ended up in downtown, my feet aching something chronic and managed to find me some dinner. Luckily I did manage to find the Metro to take me home... and to discover that the stop I was looking for to begin with was actually only a 5 minute walk
Church in Latin QuartierChurch in Latin QuartierChurch in Latin Quartier

Chapelle Notre Dame de Lourdes
from the hostel... but at least I had made my mistake that night, as opposed to at 9am the next morning on the way to the Grand Prix!

Friday was obviously the start of the Grand Prix weekend. So having woke up unseasonably early I set off the practises. Not wanting to waste any time, I decided the head out to do some sightseeing straight from the track. Now in theory that was feasable, given that the track is on an island in the middle of the river, and connected by the metro. However, I first went for a walk around the island, just to have a gander, and to try and avoid some of the exit queues (didn't work). Then I headed up the Plateau Mont Royal. A really nice place from the sounds of it, with some cute streets and decent views down to the city. However... once again I got my bearings messed up, and by this point I was knackered (it was only like 4.30) so when I saw a street sign I recognised I blindly walked that way, praying I was going in the right direction, and not further away from civilisation.... When I
New TownNew TownNew Town

Jacques Villeneuve's bar on Rue Crescent
reached the hostel I almost collapsed with relief! That was when I decided that it wasn't a good idea to combine the racing with the sight-seeing without some kind of siesta & shower break. To keep on playing safe, in the evening I just went to the Quartier Latin which was literally round the corner from the hostel. This is traditionally the student area, and was full of cute bars and restaurants and terraces to sit and watch the world go by. It's the home of UQAM (Universite de Quebec a Montreal) which has some really quaint old buildings.

On Saturday, having learnt my lesson, I went back to the hostel before venturing back out into the city. I had decided to go back Downtown, in particular to Rue Crescent and Rue Peel. Rue Peel was partially closed off to showcase the Super Cars that I mentioned in my previous blog. Rue Crescent has been the home to the Official Grand Prix Party for the past 10 years, and was extra big this year to celebrate that anniversary, combined with the 30th anniversary of the Grand Prix. It's also home to New Town - Jacques Villeneuve's bar. After soaking up the atmosphere there for a while I headed to the RESO. This is an underground network of shops, restaurants and cinemas which stretches out under Montreal, most of it under the Metro. Not only is it air-conditioned (a blessing in the record-breaking heat & humidity that Montreal was experiencing), but it was a good place to grab some food as there were numerous food courts which served extremely generous portions nice and cheap.

Sunday was obviously the big day, and luckily the weather was perfect during the day, a little too perfect my sunkissed (read sunburnt) shoulders might say. But in the evening, just as I was preparing to head out to check out Vieux Montreal (Old Town) the heavens opened.... so I gave up and headed to a Lebanese place not too far away.

And that just left Monday... one day to see pretty much the whole city! I left bright and early, surprising myself by being able to wake up early without the incentive of the racing! But then I was headed to the Olympic Park... Montreal hosted the Olypmics in 1976 and the Park is accessible by Metro. At the site there is also
Toyota BusToyota BusToyota Bus

Bus of the Toyota F1 team travelling round the streets of Downtown (not with the drivers on board unfortunately!)
a tower, the worlds largest inclined tower, with some pretty awesome views over Montreal. On a clear day you can see for miles... I wasn't so lucky, but still got to see quite far. After the Tower there was a tour around the Olympic Stadium. The only part still in permanent use is the Swimming Pool, but it was still interesting to have a look around. And fact of the day is that Canada is the only host nation never to have won an Olympic gold medal... GB won two that year. After the Olympic park I headed to the Old Town for a wander around. It was pretty, but I wouldn't say it was the prettiest of "old towns" that I've seen. What I liked the most was the mix of French and English styles. I was gutted that the museums were all shut on Mondays, but I still got to see all the main sites. From there I headed out to Mont Royal, the "mountain" which gives Montreal it's name (tho it might be a bit far-fetched to call it a mountain... all 230 metres of it!). I didn't get to go to the Park, but did make
Church downtownChurch downtownChurch downtown

Cathedrale Marie Reine du Monde
it to l'Oratoire de Saint Joseph, a HUGE church on the top of the mountain. I also went the Cimitiere Notre Dame des Nieges, the largest Catholic cemetary in North America. By that point my feet and legs were telling me that it was time to return...

So all in all I got to see most of Montreal, and I have to say I did really like it. I wouldn't say that it is one of my favourite places in the world, but it would make the top 5 for sure. It was absurdly easy to navigate with the Metro (once I figured out my left and right). The locals for the most part are really friendly... once you get past that accent of theirs....

Would I go back again? Most definitely... and not only for the Grand Prix!

By the way... I will add some fotos... as soon as I can!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Statue Downtown, in Place du CanadaStatue Downtown, in Place du Canada
Statue Downtown, in Place du Canada

Statue in Place du Canada of Sir John A. MacDonald, Canadas 1st Prime Minister
View from the tower at the Olympic ParkView from the tower at the Olympic Park
View from the tower at the Olympic Park

The island in the middle is where the Grand Prix was held
View from the tower at the Olympic ParkView from the tower at the Olympic Park
View from the tower at the Olympic Park

The white blob at the bottom is the main stadium and its roof
Statue in rememberance of Soeur Marguerite BourgeoysStatue in rememberance of Soeur Marguerite Bourgeoys
Statue in rememberance of Soeur Marguerite Bourgeoys

Canada's first saint, cannoinsed in 1982


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb