On the road again....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Waterloo
April 24th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy Easter Sunday all!
Only 1 week ago I finished my last exam after 6 terms in a row of university. I can sure use the break from lectures and ponderous readings! So here I am, a summer term of wandering.

Yesterday I moved out of the room I was renting and stored all my stuff in Terry's garage (Thank-you Terry). Now all I have with me is the clothes on my back, a small backpack filled with necessities and a jacket of many pockets that can fit my netbook it in. It is amazing how much stuff you actually don't need to survive.

In just under1 hour I leave for the airport and meet my Knowledge Integration class for the first leg of my journey in Berlin. For 10 days in Berlin I will have to survive living with thirty 19+year olds with their first taste of freedom in a "far away land". I must remember to not daydream of strangling them when I want some peace and quiet. Thank goodness for ear plugs.

The purpose of this part of the trip is to visit as many museums as physically possible. It is expected we are to see about 2 a day. Since I'm staying on longer, I'm not planning on pushing myself as hard, because in 36 days of travel it will not be hard to see 20+ museums. My plan is to experience each city I am in, not drive myself to exhaustion (though that will likely happen anyway).

I fly out of Pearson at 5:30 pm and arrive in Amsterdam at 6:30 am. Then we transfer to another plane to take us to Berlin. It should be about 10:30 their time (5:30am our time) by the time I find a soft place to crash in my hostel for some much needed sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.338s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb