Ready to Go!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Waterloo
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, the day has finally arrived - to leave family and friends for six months in Africa. This past week - actually this past summer - has been incredibly busy in preparation. With weddings, camping trips, and other obligations, I have found myself scrambling to make sure I have the necessary travel documents, visas, vaccinations, etc. all required for my trip despite having two months off! Over the past four days I have fully moved out of an apartment and hopefully packed properly for my travels. Today, I leave for Calgary where I will spend a week in training for the ChildSpeak program. It will be great to actually get to start the internship and spend time with the two other interns on this project. I first met the other two interns at a CIL (Center for Intercultural Learning) three day orientation program last week in Toronto. What an amazing and useful experience. I met some of the most interesting, fun, well travelled individuals - the bonding experience felt like I was at camp again or staying in a hostel (except the accommodations provided by the Canadian government were anything hostel like - think: king size bed and two flat screen tvs in a suite for one individual!) Anyway, I must finish trying to stuff all my things into my travel pack and suitcase before I have some last minute visitors and head out this early evening. As I have one more week in Canada until I fly from Calgary to Accra - I am not quite in Ghana yet... Wish me safe travels!

Advertisement



1st September 2008

best wishes
Hey Laura, I wish you safe travel and a joyoius and fulfilling experience in Ghana. I look forward to reading about your experiences. with much love! Doris
7th September 2008

miss u
Hi laura! Just wanted to say how much i will miss you but wish you all the best KEEP IN TOUCH! ttu soon :) xoxox Les
11th September 2008

Thanks so much! I am having such a great time so far!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb