Toronto


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 10th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After 104 days, 2 nights at the Canadiana, 4 nights at Global Backpackers Village, 2 random house mates, 6 jobs (two kept, the others quit), 3 brewery tours, 1 2 minute challenge, 1 toast masters experience,1 gay pride parade, 1 brief romance with an arsehole, several thousand encounters with crazy drugged up Torontonians, 2 brief appearances on Canadian television, 1 invitation to appear on a Canadian game show (politely declined), 1 poutine, 1.5 weeks on crackers as well as street meat and 20 cent noodles because that's all I could afford, 1 trip to New Liskeard, 1 cat empire Concert, 4 trips to Toronto Island, 2 colds, 1 burst ear drum, one trip to the doctor (for the burst ear drum), one bout of food poisoning, too many hangovers, countless numbers of bohemians, Canadians, Rickards anything, Coors light and blue (beer, it's beer guys), so many amazing new friends from all over, too much cheap Chinese food, 3 raccoons, 3 skunk, no badger, no moose, but one bear (briefly), several squirrels, and one chipmunk I almost ran over in a car, one baseball match, one toga party, one trip up the CN tower, one bier market experience, one new and more successful romance (currently a boyfriend), 1 trip to Montréal, 1 trip to Québec, one public display of affection, 3 offers by French men for a place to stay, countless drinks bought for me (none by French men "it's not the French way"),one brawl with a bloke who spilt beer all over me, 1 taxi driver who drove off with the door open and almost took me out, and one still explanationless visit from the police at four in the morning to the neighbours above, I’m settled in Toronto, Canada.
My current status?
I'm living at 23 D'Arcy St with two Canadians who I don't really see as often as I used to, it's right in the heart of Down Town TO and so it takes me about 10 minutes to walk everywhere. It's a basement house and so even in the middle of the day, it's dark. The girls I’m subletting from have absolutely no skills in interior design. My room is lime green. There's tinsel in my lounge room and sparkly snows flakes glued to my wall. My kitchen is yellow and orange. Oh no, not pastel, bright. But, my room mates are nice, however the shower has a mind of its own.....and it's bipolar. So just when I think I’ve finally got it sorted and I can enjoy a warm shower...it either scolds me or I get hit with freezing "fresh from lake Ontario" water. Needless to say, my showers are short. Don't try and send me anything because apparently, according to those who have tried, it doesn't get there, but I will get packages because they just stay at the post office. Otherwise you can post stuff to Global Village Backpackers, 460 King St. West, Toronto Ontario, just make sure my name is clear on the front.
My cell (mobile) is 416 732 9353, but you have to much sure you put the calling codes to get through to Canada and Ontario first. Ok so I think if you try....001 (to get out of aus) then 1 for North America, then 289 for Ontario, then 416 732 9353, but I’m not sure. My Australian mobile number 0402 170 861 is inactive at the moment because Optus suck.
I have two jobs....one at a chocolate store and I never thought I’d say it, but I’m sick of chocolate. It’s a nice store, and the people I work with are awesome. The other is at a sports bar/restaurant called Philthy Mcnasties and it's as philthy and Nasty as it sounds. Again the staff are cool (mostly Irish as a result of the Irish invasion that hit Toronto), the patrons however generally leave a little bit to be desired....especially when it comes to tipping...if you can't tip 15% of the bill, don't eat out. But otherwise it's fun.
I have one boyfriend (just one), he's 22, Canadian and does the job as far as boyfriends go. Known him for about 2 months so far.
I’ll be in Toronto for about another 2 months because I’m too skint to go anywhere else. But I am moving in with an Australian friend which I’m stoked about.
I haven't had a hair cut since I left Melbourne because I haven't had a chance. There are $3 haircuts on offer in Chinatown, but for now I’ll steer clear.
I have accumulated so much crap, seriously, I think if I was going to cart all of it anywhere, I’d need 4 packs.
I'll be back in Australia at the end of January.
Its summer here, the hottest it's gotten to is about 30, and all the poor Canucks think they're dying. Toronto is so smoggy that you don't need sunscreen. between that and the high humidity it's reasonably uncomfortable.
So that's where I’m at atm, a million and one things have happened all of which I intend of elaborating on as soon as I get a chance, there are some interesting stories in there but that's the synopsis.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb