Training is Over


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
June 29th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Where to begin the blog? Tonight as the time passes midnight and I try not to think off all the items on the checklist I forgot to check off and the 8 books that do not seem to fit in my bag, I try only to keep myself from jumping up and down with excitement. Tomorrow is my departure to well a number of stops (London, Dubai, Accra.. and than Tamale).

For the next 11 months I will be working NORPREP (Northern Poverty Reduction Programme) in Tamale through an Engineers Without Borders (www.ewb.ca) internship. My position within the organization is still dynamic and I will meet with NORPREP later this month to discuss the projects. NORPREP works to improve the living conditions of poor rural communities, with emphasis on women and other vulnerable groups. From the initial project description I would focus on the Planning Department to build capacity within the organization and also help to create a database management system to improve budgeting and decision making within the Northern region.

Sitting here on my bunk bed in the pre-departure house, I can only think that is it possible that I am ready to go. Am I armed with the right answers? And to that I only have one answer, which is NO. I am only armed with some of the right questions and hopefully an open mind with a willingness to learn, listen and love.

I hope that all of you will actively participate in my blog; and I will promise to keep writing.


Advertisement



30th June 2006

great to finally hear from you kristy! i'm assuming your india trip went well .. you'll have to tell me about that some other time! in the meantime, GOOD LUCK!! i know you'll do well in tamale, and i'll be thinking of you!
30th June 2006

proud of you
Please have a good safe trip! We are all proud of you for taking on a challenge like you have! Most people would not have the courage to do what you are doing! Please take care of yourself and return safely in 11 months!
30th June 2006

:)
keep up the good work lady sounds very exciting what ur up to....am 100 percent sure its gona be an unforgetable experience make use of every single moment of learning, listening and loving.... all the best...dont forget to take pictures looking forard to hear ur updates
11th July 2006

i am glad at least one person i personally know and really love is making a concrete step forward, getting out of her comfortable seat and mixing up with the 'other' lives!!! i am sure you will learn and love there a lot. keep sharing, we will look forward to it...and as your father said, do take care:)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb