Lessons learned by a weary traveler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 30th 2010
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After months of anticipation I finally went away on my long-awaited vacation. Now that I am back, I am a little wiser, a little stronger, and a little lighter thanks to a stomach bug I acquired right before flying back.

My trip was amazing. The world is a beautiful place and I’m grateful for the opportunity to explore it. Traveling from the narrow streets of London to the alleys of a Moroccan Medina is an eye-opening experience.

Although I tried to plan for everything on this trip, the one thing I did not anticipate was all the lessons I would learn. For example, there is a reason they tell you to mind the gap in London’s tube station and a 20 kilo suitcase allowance is cool until you are forced to lug a 20 kilo suitcase around Morocco.

Every experience makes you a little wearier and forces you to look at the world a bit more critically and question things that seem to be a bit too good to be true.

While I was in London I picked up an adorable little notebook from the National Gallery and scribbled down my observances throughout my trip. Now that I am back I will do my best to transcribe excerpts from my travels and share some of my experiences and lessons learned.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb