Four sleeps and counting...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
May 10th 2010
Published: May 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yup, only four sleeps left. It seems like we've been planning this trip forever and now we're down to four sleeps. It's pretty surreal. I think I'll believe it when we get off the plane in Hong Kong. We'll still have to get on another plane to get to Kuala Lumpur, but I'm pretty sure Hong Kong's airport will look a little different from Pearson International and I'll know I'm not in Canada any more.

Let me backtrack a bit and tell you who we are. There are three of us - me (Lynda), Caron and Jen. Caron and I are a mission to visit all 30 major league baseball parks, but when Jen suggested we go home to Kuala Lumpur with her this year, we only hesitated for a nanosecond or so before we agreed. We'll pick up the baseball odyssey next year. This is too good an opportunity to pass up!

So we fly out on Friday night. Well, technically early Saturday morning but 1:30 am is still Friday to me. After a 15 1/2 (shudder) hour flight, we'll stagger off, hang around Hong Kong airport for a couple of hours then stagger onto another plane to fly to Kuala Lumpur. Once we get to KL we'll have been travelling for approximately 22 hours. No doubt I'll be turned completely upsidedown from jet lag, but I'm hoping it won't take too long to get over. Maybe if I sleep for about 18 hours once we get to Jen's sister's place it will catch me up to local time. But I'm also hoping I sleep on the plane because the thought of being awake and in an airplane seat for 16 straight hours is enough to make me crazy. OK - crazier.

This entry is by way of being both a test and an entry into the blogging world. I can't promise I'll write in this every single day of the trip, but I've told so many people I'm doing this that I have to follow through. There'll be lots to talk about, so I don't think it will be a huge chore to write something most nights. I'm planning on doing the first real entry from the airport because to my mind, once you're in the airport and through security the trip has officially started.

Until Friday then.....




Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb