Northern Exposure


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
June 27th 2009
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After finishing up at Black Cat, making few new friends and catching up with some old ones I boarded a plane for Toronto. A stopover in Charlotte and no hassles with customs I was in Canada. I was met at Pearson Airport by Diarmuid whom I hadn't seen for 5 years. It was great to catch up with him. I spent the next week staying with him and his wife Lydia and their two amazing children Alex and Neena. I was treated to my first home cooked meal in weeks which was a real treat.

The next morning I headed down town with Diarmuid who works in the building next to the Hilton where the Northern Exposure convention was being held. Upon making my way in I was greeted by Lyle Tuttle and Bill whom I had met in Columbus- I owe a huge debt to both these guys for helping arrange to get me a booth to work for the weekend. It was one of the best organized conventions I have been to, I hope to return next year. I was lucky enough to do a fair bit of work myself and meet some amazing artists. I watched Bob Tyrell work on a portrait of Stevie Ray Vaughn, it was incredible to watch and I hope some of it rubs off on my own portrait work.

I met an awesome tattooer from Sakura Tattoo in Virginia named Jesse Tseronis, he had some amazing work from Filip Leu and Kurt Wiscome (whom I also met over the weekend and is a great and very humble tattooer). Jesse's account of meeting and then getting work from Filip has made me all the more keen to make the trip to Switzerland to do the same.

The next few days flew by, I met some amazing people, spent some quality time with old and new friends, including a trip to Niagra falls with Tony Salvadori, dinner with his daughter Marina and her family, a trip to Canada's Wonderland with Anna filled with rollercoasters and waterslides, seeing Alex play soccer, and Neena iceskating. Accidently catching a live performance by Lady GaGa in downtown Toronto, As well as the crazy NIX afterparty at Circa.

Thursday morning I said my goodbyes to Diarmuid and his family, Lydia was kind enough to drive me to the airport in the pouring rain and hail where I boarded another plane to Edmonton.

Jesse who owns Shambhala tattoo where I am currently working met me at the airport and has been my most gracious host- I was met at the shop by none other than Wayde Dunn, who is dating Lexci the piercer here at Shambhala and has just organized himself a 2 year Canadian Visa and looks like getting settled. I'm happy for him, he seems to have really found a new home here.

My first day of work has been great and I have a steady stream of work ahead of me.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb