All good things must come to an end...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
January 11th 2006
Published: January 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

View from Brent's apartmentView from Brent's apartmentView from Brent's apartment

This is the view from Brent's apartment balcony
I can't believe I'm back in Toronto! Three weeks goes by very quickly when you're having the time of your life...

My last day in Australia was spent on the beach, in the ocean, and just generally relaxing on the Sunshine Coast with Brent. My flight left at 6:30 pm (out of the tiny Maroochydore airport) and I landed in Sydney at 9:30 pm, where Tasha, Dejana and Petar picked me up. We went back to Dejana's apartment and relaxed, and of course had some more Tim Tams before bed.

Speaking of the legendary Tim Tams... I bought about $30 worth to bring home with me, but Tasha bought double that and actually had to buy a new suitcase just to hold them all! On Saturday Dejana dropped us off at the Sydney airport and we said goodbye... very sad. We walked over to the United counter to check in when a security guard stopped us and told us that if we wanted, he could inspect our bags and then we could go through priority check-in (which only had one person in line). He went through my bags with no problems, and then he lifted up Tasha's brand new
Last dayLast dayLast day

Last day of enjoying the beautiful beach at Kawana Waters
bag which was packed full of Tim Tams. He unzipped it and immediately started laughing, and then called out to another security guard nearby, "hey Joe, you have to come and see this!" Hahaha!! Tasha caused a sensation in the Sydney airport, it was hilarious. After the security guards threatened (jokingly) to take some for themselves, we got checked in and then had some lunch before our plane left.

There is nothing too exciting to report from that point on... it was a loooonnng trip from Sydney to San Francisco, and there were no good movies which didn't help. I tried to sleep but I didn't manage more than an hour or two. We arrived home in Toronto at midnight on Saturday after 24 hours of travelling! Candice picked me up at the airport and it was great to see her... the two of us haven't been apart for 3 weeks straight since we moved in together!

Yesterday was my first day back at work and I also had class last night, so it was a very very long day! I managed to get through it, but today was even tougher... I'm not sure if I'm just not used to this schedule anymore, or maybe I am still feeling a little bit of jet lag. Either way, I hope it gets better soon!

So my adventure and my blogs end here... I have attached a few more pictures, and hopefully I will have the whole album up soon so that you can see everything!

I miss Australia already.... how many months left until summer?? 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

TrainingTraining
Training

Brent catching a wave during an afternoon training session
Surfing?Surfing?
Surfing?

He was trying to stand up and surf on his paddle board... it almost worked!
Me on the beachMe on the beach
Me on the beach

Enjoying the last few hours of fun on the beach before I had to catch a plane to Sydney
The houseThe house
The house

A view from the outside of the house we lived in for 2 weeks!
Tasha at the airportTasha at the airport
Tasha at the airport

The red bag is full of Tim Tams!
ImportsImports
Imports

Back in Toronto... these are what I brought home for Candice as a souvenir! (Not all of them are for her, don't worry family & Sarina!)


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb