See Ya!!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
January 5th 2006
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Don't Cry For Me Toronto!!Don't Cry For Me Toronto!!Don't Cry For Me Toronto!!

The truth is I never left you. Me waving goodbye to my many, many fans.
Hi everybody!! I just started this Blog (why blog? anyone?) and I thought I'd notch up my first entry. It's early in the morning on the 5th of January and here I am trying to figure out how to use this website. But I'm sure nobody wants to hear about my many shortcomings in operating modern software. So let me get you up to date.

For the last 8 months or so i have been working as hard as possible (for me) to save money for this trip. I can't thank enough the kind customers at Grano restaurant here in Toronto for their generous, and in some cases not so generous gratuities as I now have saved enough cash that I will not have to fake a smile or laugh at another crappy joke for at least six months (except for when courting beutiful Argentinian chicas). I must also say thanks to my co-workers for dealing with my numerous mood swings, mental breakdowns, and cheeky quips. Although they've assured me that they're sad to see me go I'm convinced that they're going to pop a bottle of prosecco as soon as I'm safely on the plane!!!

This past summer
Me and SeanMe and SeanMe and Sean

Packing up for the big trip!!
wasn't as exciting as I would have liked but had it's highlights. These included.....

--- May 24 at Palmer's chalet, a physically and mentally draining weekend from which I still have physical and mental scars not to mention a rad Creemore T-Shirt!!! i'm still surprised we all made it home in one peice (did we?)

--- The "All Morgan" Champions league final between Liverpool and AC Milan. My two favourite teams playing what is considered the greatest final of all time. Definetely the sporting highlight of the year without hockey!!

--- Cracking brews before noon and watching the marathon that was Live8 at the 5 points with Nick and Bob. Nothing like seeing Barrie mentioned alongside world class cities like London, Rome, and Moscow..... class!! Thanks to Neil for playing Four Strong Winds.

--- The mid-summer "So' West Ontario Facemelter", a week long road trip that included such memories as hiding in tall grass from overzealous Park Rangers, witnessing a fully grown man so hungover he had to pull his car on the shoulder and vomit violently out the door (a moment that Nick thankfully caught on video!!), tasting Ontario's finest wines at Stratus vineyards, and attending a kick ass farm party (even if it was crawling with UCC boys).

--- Labour day weekend in the WASP nest that is Muskoka. Including the best golf I've ever played one red eyed morning at Muskoka Woods Golf and Country Club (still can't believe they let a Ukranian on the course!!). Many thanks to The Dazzler for smuggling me onto the links.

--- Winning the Steve Weslak memorial family golf tourney for the second year running!! Call me lucky if you like, but it's only fitting a Weslak's name is on the trophy again, and Steve Jr. ain't winning it anytime soon!!


I think this is all getting a little long in the tooth, but I wanted to make a summer spent mostly playing NHL '94 with Hogg at Nick's house (yeah that's right, we rule) and hanging out at Gabby's sound slightly more exotic.

So as we enter 2006 I feel as if I have a clean canvas on which to paint my masterpiece (too cheesy? no?) and I hope it is everybit as beutiful as a Von Gogh or a Goya, although I would happily settle for a Renoir. My next post will be from Quito, Ecuador where I will most likely be hunched over a toilet, or hole in the ground rocked by altitude sickness, or from one two many cervecas!! I hope those of you who will check out these posts will enjoy them and if I don't have any interesting stories I promise I'll make some up!!! hasta luego!!!!!!!

Advertisement



13th January 2006

nice work fellas, keep it going!!! Buen viaje !!!
19th January 2006

Lucky South America!
Good luck fellas, so wadda I do now if the drain backs up here and you're busy blocking drains in S.A.? Is there no consideration after all those cheap tips?
20th January 2006

touchdown
See you boys in August...maybe sooner if you get tapped to be mules.
23rd January 2006

Unimpressed
Muskoka Woods Morgan? You should know it's Muskoka Lakes and has been since it's inception in 1700. I will forgive this egregious error.....once. Now go slap someone for me.
28th January 2006

Why Morgy, you're looking even blacker than usual. Keep us posted, I wish I was down there with ya but I seem to lack the determination to focus on such a fruitful dream for eight long months. Enjoy your well deserved adventures mon frere! And as for you Seaner, well you're just plain foxy. And don't you two dare come back without a story about fighting over the last slice of pizza with some Peruvian broad. Peace, A.V.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb