Flying to Japan


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
September 24th 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left our apartment at 3.15am and arrived at the airport at 4am. This was WAY too early for my 8.30am flight, but it was the time my Airport Shuttle service had insisted upon due to the United Nations summit. I was offered an earlier flight and took it, but later regretted it! Being so early meant that I got window seats and an exit row though. When I got on the plane, however, a woman had stolen my window seat! And then she slept through take-off and landing. I couldn't believe it!

I flew to Toronto and had a 5-hour layover. I got yelled at by some snobby airport staff for not having a suitcase (I was only going for a week, so I only needed a backpack!). That was fun. Then, I was too early to check in for my connection, so I had to wait (and sleep) on the chairs outside check-in. I decided that I do not have good luck in Canada.

Not only did I have an exit row seat on my flight to Japan, but I had a free seat next to me as well. Hooray! But my tv didn't work, the exit row was frrrreeeeezing, and the little boy behind me kicked the back of my seat for the whole flight. CANADAAAAA!! I didn't mind, though. I used the spare blanket and pillow from the seat next to me and slept for most of the trip.

When we landed it was 3.30pm the next day. I noticed a difference in cultures immediately. The staff at Narita Airport were so pleasant! There was excellent signage so I had no troubles getting to where I needed to be. I had a few hours to fill because Gabe was working until 9pm, so I was hoping that customs would take a while. Who hopes for that!?!? But I hardly had to wait at all, because they were so well-organised. I bought an iced latte and filled in some time by reading and playing with my Japanese money.

At 7.30pm I made my way to Gabe's city, Warabi, on the trains. I was shocked when I was asked whether I wanted to ride in a smoking carriage. People still smoke in restaurants in Japan, too. I loved the trains- they were so quiet! They also have tv screens above the doors that tell you what the next stop is and which side the doors will open on.

When I got to Gabe's station I waited in the place we'd originally decided to meet, while Gabe waited at the place we decided on a few days after that. We eventually found each other and he took me to his place to drop off my bags. We then went to a little restaurant for dinner and afterwards he showed me one of his local bars. It felt strange not having to tip anybody!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb