The Journey Begins


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
May 14th 2019
Published: May 14th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Well here we are! Anne-Sophie (my nutrition student peer) and I are in Toronto Pearson Airport for a layover, awaiting our overnight flight to Brussels. I'm not sure the whole experience has struck me as tangible and real yet. I hardly slept last night in anticipation. I had to call in reinforcements for what I am tilting The Great Packing Crisis of 2019. I have a sinking feeling that I am forgetting something, and that I will discover it at the most inopportune time. This is my first overseas travel experience and I am unimaginably excited and anxious, in the best and worst ways. My stomach has been practicing gymnastics at my expense in anticipation for the travel and the culture shock.

I am sure that after these next three months have passed I will reflect on this post and laugh at my naivety and anxiety. I am looking forward to many insights along this trip, and to use this pre-departure post as a measuring point for the changes, internal and external, that will undoubtedly occur throughout this adventure.

I am currently most anticipating our hospital rotation, although I am interested to see how this may change as I experience our community rotation and the out-of-hospital aspects of our trip. I have developed a budding interest in emergency medicine throughout my nursing degree, and this interest prompted me to select my hospital rotations accordingly: medical emergency, surgical emergency, and pediatric surgery. Emergency medicine sparks excitement and I am interested to learn, compare, and contrast the difference in pediatric care across the globe. I have spent four years learning the ins and outs of the population health needs of the community of Saskatoon and its sub-communities. I am buzzing with excitement to spend the next three months discovering Ugandan population health needs and how to serve them.

I am feeling incredibly fortunate to have been awarded this scholarship. I look forward to growing with my peers, both old and new, Canadian and otherwise.



Casey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb