To Ottawa Ontario Canada for the 23rd Annual International Black Summit


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
July 30th 2013
Published: August 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The drive to Ottawa was spectacular; good company (Andrea, Chekesha, Henrietta, Quita and her husband Joe), great conversation, games, music, stopping to eat, potty breaks and gas tank refills. I had an insight into a distinction regarding transformation and regeneration. Having shed 35 lbs. within 3 months (Feb through May) and seeing my body take on a new shape and appearance, I wondered if what I went through was a transformation. I also noticed I had been watching a lot of Dr. Who, specifically the current and 10th regeneration of the Doctor. I began to wonder about the difference between regeneration and transformation and during the drive, shared my thoughts about each with my fellow travelers. I likened transformation to metamorphosis of a caterpillar to a butterfly. I had reasoned that if the caterpillar dissolves into a “soup” then it wouldn't remember being a caterpillar. In effect then, the caterpillar had to DIE, prior to becoming a butterfly. (New 3D scan information may prove my conclusion flawed. http://phenomena.nationalgeographic.com/2013/05/14/3-d-scans-caterpillars-transforming-butterflies-metamorphosis/ ) With regeneration, as presented by the Dr. Who TV series, the Dr. remembers ALL of his past lives. Given those premises, then I reasoned what I had experienced was a regeneration because my memory (such as it is) remained is intact.

I was still uncomfortable with the dying part of transformation and then we stopped to fill up the gas tank. I had an insight while washing my hands in the restroom. What suddenly popped into my head was that I was the result of a 'caterpillar to butterfly' type of metamorphosis. When the sperm penetrated the egg and the process of mitosis began, the sperm "died". I, as the sperm, don't recall that life and yet, here I am. I am the ONE out of all those other sperm around that egg, beating and beating that skin to get in. I did. And I have no memory of that either. As I said, the drive to Ottawa was SPECTACULAR!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb