Go Sens Go!!!.....(and how does one spell "toboganning"?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
February 25th 2007
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OttawaOttawaOttawa

It's 9.AM Monday and so very cold - why would anybody be on the streets? In the foreground is the War Memorial and one can just see the National Gallery(my favourite building in the City)in the background.
I'm in Ottawa and it's really nice to spend some time here before I fly back to the UK.

I arrived here somewhat jaded from the pleasures and rigours of all that had gone before and it has been restorative to share the company of good friends in this place which I have visited many times.

This is my first "Winter" sojourn in the nation's Capital and I've been initiated into some of Canada's seasonal obsessions.

I went to my first "Hockey" game and saw the Senators beat the Oilers 4-3 after a shootout in front of 19,000 people at Scotiabank Place. It was great fun and, to use a technical term, "I'm hooked".

I've "curled" my first stones on a rink at Nepean and, on the same day, taken my first (very) faltering steps on ice in skates in the local park. All part of the winter experience here in the home of "The Great One" and Bobby Orr. Most Canadians learn to skate very early and it's amazing to see how much confidence and fun even very young kids have on the ice.

Another first for me tonight - Vietnamese food. We got a
Tuesday night is Hockey night...Tuesday night is Hockey night...Tuesday night is Hockey night...

The Senators on the way to a narrow and late victory over a resilient Oilers.
take-out from a local restaurant and it was sensational.

I've had some great food and some great hospitality here in Ottawa and it's a good place to relax before I return home. As ever I shall be very sad to leave.

On my last full day here I went tobogganing with my host and his daughters. It was mildly thrilling and great fun and almost without risk which is almost my favourite combination. A perfect way to spend a bright, winter afternoon with dear friends.

Anyways, all good things must come to an end and Eric and young Nick dropped me off at YOW on Monday evening and I said my goodbyes to Ottawa for the present.

The flights to Heathrow and then Teesside were remarkably smooth and relaxed and the emotional balance was restored when I passed through customs and was met by my dear friend Margaret.

We went to see her daughter Jane in Darlington after a quick trip round Morrisons and my successful reintegration into British Society was all but guaranteed. A delightful lunch (braised lamb shank) at the Seven Stars in Shincliffe and re-entry was completed with only the formalities of extreme jet-lag etc to follow..

I had a wonderful time during my brief excursion RTW and everything went more or less as I planned and hoped it would. I met so many friendly and interesting and kind people and a massive bonus was being able to share my experiences with far-flung family and friends.

Now (with due deference to JRRT and with a deep breath) -

"..I'm back", he said.

GMM - I March 2007.














Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Brouwers sent me this for my BlogThe Brouwers sent me this for my Blog
The Brouwers sent me this for my Blog

They say toboganning makes one look weightier than one is....??


25th February 2007

you come back, we go
Not long now until we are off. Hope we have as good a time ass you seem to have had. Last time I went to an ice hockey game it was dueham Wasps v ????? Remember them before John Hall stole them and finished them. We must make Canada in winter our next trip, as I love snow and ice. Enjoy the rest of your visit, and see you soon.

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.2697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb