Bruce Trail Hike: Day 23 794529 3rd line EHS Mono, ON to 1221 25 Sideroad Orangeville, ON


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Orangeville
September 11th 2016
Published: September 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I continue my hike northward. This time I would spend most of the morning in Mono Cliffs provincial park. Parking was a bit of an issue as the spot where you enter the Bruce Trail in the park does not have easy parking spot. There is a parking lot at the park but it is 2KM from the entry point. After some thought I parked close to the entry point and I had to adjust my parking because I car was slowly sliding down the angled spot.

After solving my parking dilemma I began my hike. The hike in the park was easy and enjoyable. There are a number of lakes and lookout points in the park. There are also beautiful meadows you can wander around. The first 5km hike is a steady uphill hike. It is not a steep incline thought so you shouldn't have much trouble going up towards the cliffs that give the park its name. After you reach the top of the cliff you hike steadily downhill and around McCarston lake. I ran into some other hikers at this point who were taking a break at the park. I debated rather dipping my feet in the lake but opted to continue my hike. I generally hike for exercise purposes rather than enjoyment purposes.

Finally I exited the park around KM 8 and walked north on 1st EHS and made my way past some houses and farms. Finally after reaching 25 Side Road I opted to end my hike and did a complete loop back to my car. Total hike for today was 17KM and 3 Hours 20 Minutes. I am steadily increasing my hiking distance until I reach my usual level of 20 - 30 KM a day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb