- Message In A Song -


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
July 30th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tree HuggerTree HuggerTree Hugger

Ode to Ye Olde Tree - You are our largest and oldest living friends on this earth. Thank you for your branch to swing on. Respect.
Last GoodBye,

Tomorrow night my parents drive me to the Detroit Airport - I was informed by a friend that it's commical I chose an airport that may actually be more dangerous than my destination. Cheers, Dave.

I am almost ready to go! One more sleep in my comfy bed (I have a feeling I will think about it's soft, cushy mattress often while adjusting to sleeping on my tent's floor for 4 months). *Random thought: I wonder if I'll be one of those people who needs to sleep on the floor beside my bed when I return home because I'll find it more "comfortable"? That would be so odd.

I am uncertain about the feeling I currently have in my stomach? It's either intense excitment or, more likely, a side-effect from these nasty Anti-Typhoid Fever pills I have been taking this week (the 51% effectiveness the information booklet boasts of is quite reassuring. They say I will be "good" for 7 whole years when I take them all. What also makes me bitter is that the cramps are like nothing I've ever encountered for such a ridiculous percentage). Does it mean that since I took the meds I have more like a 75% chance of not getting the fever? You either get it or you don't, right? I suppose 51% looks a lot more appealling than 49%. Sigh. It actually does now that I read that sentence.

That aside - - I have something to share with you as my final send off (to myself).
My good friend, Jeff Brydges (not the actor), recently introduced me to an artist named Xavier Rudd. I'd like to leave you with his song as my departing message. The song is called "Better People". You should download it and listen. It is both liberating and inspiring. I like to crank the volume and dance around to it, you may like to do the same 😊 Hope you enjoy!


- Better People -

People saving whales
And giving your thanks to the seas
My respect to the ones in the forest
Standing up for our old trees

Them giving food to the hungry
Giving hope to the needy
Giving life to a baby, giving care for free
'Cause there is freedom around us

We have everything we need and I will care for you
'Cause you care for me
And we all have opinions, some of them get through
But there's better people with more good to do, good to do

What I have could be a message
Or just some words from my heart
My respect to the ones making changes
For all the lives they'll give their all

Like giving food to the hungry
Giving hope to the needy
Giving life to a baby, giving care for free
'Cause there is freedom around us

We have everything we need and I will care for you
'Cause you care for me
And we all have opinions, some of them get through
But there's better people with more good to do, good to do

When our world it keeps spinning round and round it goes
Mother nature keeps spreading its disease
And our children keep growing up with
What they know through what we teach and what they see

And so only a question of the time we have
And the lives that our children need
As they can only keep growing up with
What they know through what we teach and what they see

Like giving food to the hungry
Giving hope to the needy
Giving life to a baby, giving care for free
'Cause there is freedom around us

We have everything we need and I will care for you
'Cause you care for me
We all have opinions, some of them get through
But there's better people with more good to do, good to do
Oh good to do...


Love.Friendship.Peace.

_Jodi


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb