All my bags are packed; I'm ready to go!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

2 suitcases weighing almost 70 pounds, 1 duffel weighing almost 50 pounds, a laptop bag, and a backpack later - I am all packed and ready to go! I'm going to look SUPER awkward trying to pull it all through the airport but what else were my options when I'm gone for 2 years! 😊

Mom, Ginny, and I (Dad is working) are heading to Toronto tomorrow night to spend the afternoon/evening relaxing in a hotel so that the 4am airport trip for my 6am flight doesn't feel so bad.

I received confirmation from the school today that they will be meeting all of us coming in at the airport and then taking us to the really nice hotel called Honduras Maya, where we will stay for up to a week, until we find a place to live.

Walter will be meeting me at the hotel on Wednesday and then will assist in the process of looking for our apartment!

I am feeling great about going, despite current political standings. Things have apparently calmed down and now the rest of the world seems to be starting to see Zelaya (the ousted president) for what he really is (according to a few articles I read online tonight).

I feel like I haven't had ANY time to really prepare for leaving. I got home from camp around 7pm on Saturday, visit with relatives that spent the night, and then was surprised with a drop in visit from Estelle and Justin. I spent ALL day packing today followed by a nice family dinner then a visit with different relatives. 1 more sleep then Toronto - then 1 more "sleep" then HONDURAS! It has come so quickly, yet when I think about how long I waited for this ALL YEAR, it will be nice to FINALLY see Walter and be together again.

I will be keeping up with my blogs, although I don't know what the internet will be like for the first few weeks at our apartment, although I will try to use it at the hotel, as well as will be taking advantage of the internet at the school.

I will miss you all. Please keep in touch!

Advertisement



27th July 2009

Cuidate mucho! Y muchisima suerte con todo!
27th July 2009

Sarah...you certainly sound like you're ready to go! I hope you have an incredible year....I'll be thinking of you and will look forward to reading your blogs. Have a great trip and a fabulous reunion with Walter. If you decide to get married, make sure you come back to Ontario for the wedding.....your parents have always been incredible at throwing the best parties!! Of course that sounds selfish of me....hoping for a party!....what I really am hoping for is that you find the happiness you so richly deserve....I think you're a beautiful person both inside and out...Walter is smart not to let go of you....those young children you'll be teaching will soon know how lucky they are......good luck, God bless and keep on enjoying life Sarah....!!
27th July 2009

Good Luck
The adventure begins!! Good luck Sarah and enjoy the reunion!!! Be safe
27th July 2009

Miss you (already) too!
Have a safe flight! If the airport was closer, you know I would be there in a second!
27th July 2009

Hey Sarah! I am so excited for your new adventure! Take care, be safe, be aware and most of all, rejoin your love and make a difference in those children's lives. :D I am sure it will be yet another experience to cherish. I look forward to more of your blogging! xox
27th July 2009

All the best
All the best for the next two years!!! Hope everything goes really good for you. Please keep in touch. Love you and I will be thinking of you and missing you.
28th July 2009

Have a terrific time...
Your attitude has always gotten you through the difficult distractions when in Honduras. I too lived there for a time with my American family and know some of your issues. You will have such a great time with your new position in the new surroundings with your knowledge going into it this time. Plus you have Walter! Do well, be well, you will have so much fun. The kids are so lucky to have you as their teacher. Best of luck it goes pretty smoothly for you Sarah. Supportive family and friends go very far. Enjoy...Carol Lynn

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb