I week prior to departure. Counting down the days......


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Dunnville
April 21st 2016
Published: April 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Feeling much anxiety as we get closer to our departure from Toronto Pearson International Airport. So much to prepare at home and work. The thought of sitting in a quaint little cafe sipping on a German beer is keeping me focused. 😊

This will be my first trip away from North America and for Emily as well. We hope to gain some insight into old Europe especially Germany where my mother's grandfather was born and immigrated to Ontario Canada in the mid 1800's. I want Emily to enjoy the culinary side of it as she graduates from George Brown College in Toronto. We have the pleasure and comfort of travelling with Sue Secord and her mother Eva who spends 5 weeks in Germany annually and speaks fluent German. She's already warned me that the coffee is expensive and I can easily get a pint of beer cheaper!

Our trip will start in Munich April 30 and then a 110k drive to our Bed and Breakfast in Bad Kohlgrub, Germany, we'll spend 3 nights there and then off to Slovenia to the Snovik Resort for a three-night stay. Hopefully, we can fit in a round a golf.

Our next stop Mestre,Italy to unpack our car, park and take public transit into Venice for the day and evening, it'll include a gondola ride and a visit to the market and as everyone has mentioned -- pizza in Italy is a must have.

We'll leave Italy and head to Austria on route back to Germany. While in Austria Emily will take the Alpine coaster ride through the Alps. I will most likely sit this out.

We'll be back to our BB and for a few days. Then the final leg of our trip, a night stay back in Munich and a day in the historic Nuremberg.

Flight from Toronto non-stop to Munich 7 Hours 40 Min.

1 CDN Dollar = .67 Euros

Time Zone CEST + EST + 6 Hours

Temp today in Munich 18C.

Advertisement



29th April 2016

Guten tag!
Lori, your trip sounds wunderbar! I'm sure you will have a great time in Munich. I'll be thinking of you drinking beer in the Hofbrauhaus....prost!
29th April 2016

Danke!
Pretty excited Jim, and I think the Hofbrauhaus would be a great start, I'll have to break the "never before noon" rule :) We arrive in Munich at 10:00am! XO
3rd May 2016

ciao
Lori, How I envy you. Skip and I travelled a lot in our younger days and have such fond memories of Germany and Venice Italy. Have a beer for me although I would love the expensive coffee.

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb