Halifax


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
June 3rd 2007
Published: June 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

After I left Ontario I flew to Halifax. The Halifax area was overcast and so we could not see the ground until shortly before landing. It was very exciting when the plane finally broke through the clouds and Nova Scotia was right below. The first thing that struck me was just how many lakes there are near Halifax - the entire landscape was dotted with lakes and rivers. They had a late spring in the Maritimes so the trees were mostly still barren and I knew I was a long way away from warm, sunny Vancouver which had bloomed in to spring months before.

I made my way in to the city of Halifax where I met up with Mike, Sean and Garreth, three friends from UBC. I spent a few nights with them and I had the chance to experience several of Halifax's pubs. One of the most enjoyable was Maxwell's Plum. They offer a sampler tray with a choice of six of the assorted types of beer that they have on tap. Over sixty types of beer on tap, in fact. I asked for a random sample tray and received the following:

McAuslan Apricot Wheat Ale (Quebec) - an extremely sweet apricot-flavoured ale. It reminded me of a sickly sweet cough syrup. No good at all.

Pump House Cadian Ale (Moncton) - tasted like skunk cabbage, I kid you not. By far the worst beer I have ever had in my life.

Leffe Blonde (Belgian) - This is a fairly common beer in Canada I believe. It was alright, mildly sweet.

Belle-Vue Kriek (Brussels) - Tasted slightly of cherry, but was not as overpowering as the McAuslan. Good drink if you enjoy fruit flavoured beers.

Maclays - a fairly standard Maritimes lager available at most liquor stores in Nova Scotia and I believe the other Maritime provinces as well. It is brewed by the Maritime Beer Company which is now owned by Sleeman (they own Okanagan Springs as well).

Black Pearl - same story as Maclays. It tasted piratey.

Maxwell's Plum is clearly designed to attract tourists but with 60 beer on tap I'd go back even if I lived there. Also, they serve free peanuts and patrons are encouraged to throw their used shells on the floor.

The downtown area of Halifax is filled with old buildings and statues and cemeteries (the city is full of cemeteries) which remind those tourists from BC that parts of this country were established hundreds of years before ol' Gassy Jack showed up in Vancouver. The city has a very vibrant feel and combines history, an international port, three universities, hipsters, live music and Maritime pride and hospitality in to a mix that this traveller loved. I miss the city already.

My visit to Halifax was interrupted by several excursions throughout the Maritimes but I ended my visit with my cousin Tobi and her son Riley, her mother and her mother's boyfriend. For those of you in Kitimat who remember Jocelyn's cooking - she hasn't lost her touch. I sure ate well at that house (so much seafood).








Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Keith's BreweryKeith's Brewery
Keith's Brewery

The tour is well worth the price of admission.
Maxwell's PlumMaxwell's Plum
Maxwell's Plum

Over 60 beers on tap!
Lobster ArtLobster Art
Lobster Art

There were several of these throughout the city. I believe Halifax had an exhibition much likes the orca and spirit bear displays in Vancouver.
Sean and GarrethSean and Garreth
Sean and Garreth

Doing a jig on a Halifax Pier.
Rogue's RoostRogue's Roost
Rogue's Roost

A brew pub we went to one night.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb