Explore Inuvik


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first day off in Inuvik!

Everything about the arctic zone is deeply interesting to me I hardly know where to start my exploring here. So I have started to talk with some local people here to get some ideas of the area.

I had a meeting with Ed McLean, an ecosystems scientist at the Inuvik parks canada office. He gave me some great leads for graduate supervisors that are doing marine/fish studies in the area with grand funding. I then proceeded to the library to do some fun silent reading on the carpet... (grade 1 style) I found a couple good books about the western arctic to mentally chew on. When I had to pee I decided it was time to move on. Next I checked out a local art store where I purchased some postcards for all my fabulous friends (PS if you want a postcard from the Arctic email me your address if I dont already have it). Everything in this store, aside from the postcards, was sooooo incredibly expensive! So on this note I went to the secondhand store in town, "Next to New". I found some sweeeeeet cloth bags to bring home!!!! Those of you who know of my unsuccessful search for and project to make cloth bags back home know how big of a deal this is! And I got three of them! AAAAAnd to top it off they all have Inuvik stuff on them! I also got some free books to read. One of them, "The Last Crossing" by Guy Vanderhaeghe, looks like it has great potential for a Sarah Pick.

It was 25 degrees in Inuvik today! So after my 4 hour adventure in the streets of Inuvik I headed back to our flat and washed my muddy field clothes, which will just get muddy again in a couple of days😊 This hot day also means that the evening is going to be very warm and filled with glaucous light.

I miss everyone very much and send you all huge Arctic Char style fish kisses!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



7th July 2007

Those smartie townhomes are great! and I love the church too. It seems so different. I hope you like your Guy Vanderhaeghe book. I read The Englishman's Boy a few years ago, and thought it was really good. Miss you! xoxo

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb