Newfoundland


Advertisement
Published: October 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ScenerySceneryScenery

Swans on the water beside the walking path


A few days of Toronto air was enough for me, so it was time for some fresh air in the most easterly part of Canada, Newfoundland which is located off the mainland on it's own little island.

Newfoundland is gorgeous in the fall, better than anywhere else I've been like say the lame Alberta fall which is basically pine and stick trees!

So my first stop was St. John's which is pretty much the most easterly part of Canada you can go. Caught up with an old friend from Jasper, went to the famous George Street which has the most bars per capita than anywhere else in North America. Can't say I remember much but I did manage to get 'screeched in'.

This procedure involves having a shot of Newfoundland Rum, reciting an irish like saying and the famous kissing the cod, although it wasn't a cod.. instead a strange looking plastic penguin, which i had to butt kiss!...

After all that excitement, the next day happen to be thanksgiving in which I was hungover the whole day.. no turkey for me!

After a long but scenic 7 hour drive, the final part of the

Road less travelledRoad less travelledRoad less travelled

On the way out of Cornerbrook
Newfoundland experience I spent in CornerBrook. After a long time planning I finally got to meet one of the long lost cousins who we've only known about for a year which i discovered just before I left Australia! Good to know that we have not only Canadian relatives, but even better, Newfoundlanders to whom in my experience are the most easy going friendly people in Canada!

Oh yeah, the accent is so thick, and to those back home who don't know the difference it's almost like listening to someone from Texas with a hint of Irish.

Well it's back to Jasper for one last time before the final stop and departure city, also the first place I touched down in Canada... the one and only Vancouver!

Looks like i'm almost at the end of my first travel blog, but not to worry as I have the travel bug and am already planning the next location(S).

Cheers,

Dan.







Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Screeched inScreeched in
Screeched in

Time to kiss the uhh...penguin?? I dunno, but it's the offical Newfoundland welcome.
Getting screeched in!Getting screeched in!
Getting screeched in!

("What am I getting myself into...")
Shots!Shots!
Shots!

Me and Adam starting the night with shots before heading to the famous George Street.
CornerbrookCornerbrook
Cornerbrook

Cornerbrook in the fall
More sceneryMore scenery
More scenery

Just another view
A little bit of history close to homeA little bit of history close to home
A little bit of history close to home

The famous Captain James Cook actually discovered here before his Pacific journey to discover the Queensland Coast!


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb