Year Ends at Nackawic High


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Nackawic
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Craig and I have decided the easiest way to keep people up to date next year is to post a travel blog and this one seems like a pretty good idea. We will save email for actual conversation, and this will take the place of the "form letter". So if you see an email from us, chances are it will be more conversational than narrative. This is also an easy way for Nackawic Students to keep up on our "goings on", so please keep that in mind if you post a comment. We'll be able to post pictures and video and each entry is saved in order. So if you miss one, you can easily catch up.

This morning was our last of contractual half day of work at Nackawic High. Its been five years and its been a really great school at which to start our careers. As most of you know, we have accepted a one year contract at TEDA International school in Tianjin, China. We received a one year leave of absence from our positions here in Nackawic. Craig and I have both met our replacements this week, and we were both impressed. Though everyone says they will miss us, I figure with the caliber of people stepping in, they wont miss us for long.

Andrew Watts, our new principal, sent our tentative teaching schedules this week. Craig is teaching a 9, 10, and 11 english. The 11 English is Asian University Stream so more oriented towards business writing.

I was surprised to find I would only be teaching about 70%, and the rest of the time they would like me to work with the service program, where students work on the volunteer/community aspect of their program. Of course I'm absolutely thrilled. They are going to give me time, and well, pay me to do what I did for free at Nackawic. I don't know much about it yet at all, but you can be assured I will be filling you in whether you want to know or not.

Right now we are focussing on packing, selling a house and a car and finding a good home for our two cats.

So when our life becomes more interesting I will post a new entry.

For now, just know the adventure truly begins on August 1st. The plane tickets are booked and the aeroplan miles are already accumulating.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb