New province, new time zone


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
July 5th 2021
Published: July 6th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 4. 2264Km.

I had originally planned to spend two nights in Thunder Bay figuring I’d be tired after two long days of driving but felt OK last night so I checked ahead in Winnipeg to be sure I could get in a day early and cancelled my second night in Thunder Bay. When I did it, it was supposed to rain there today anyway. Of course that changed by this morning but the plans were already changed. When I arrived at camp in Winnipeg I figured I’d made a big mistake. Not only is the campground right beside the highway but I was told that I couldn’t go anywhere because travellers were supposed to quarantine for 14 days or just stay one night and move on. I checked the government web site and fortunately as of just today the rules had changed so that fully vaccinated people no longer have restrictions. That’s me! The main reason I made the change was so I can go to the gym tomorrow. Gyms in Ontario still aren’t open and I haven’t been since Christmas Eve day. I called the closest GoodLife and they said “whatever the government guidelines are” when I questioned their policy.

I actually unloaded the bike and set up my outside table and a few other things for the first time on this trip. I never set anything up prior to today so that I had nothing to pack up in the mornings before heading out again. It’ll be nice not having to squeeze past the bike and tie downs when moving about the trailer.

The owners at this campground are Indian and upon checking in tried to tempt me with some home made Indian dishes. I originally said “no”, I already had something plan‘d for this evening which was true but I really like Indian food and couldn’t stop thinking about it so I had home made curry chicken with rice, naan and a samosa. Delicious and no dishes. Win win.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb