Did We Dream the U.K.?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Thompson
April 25th 2017
Published: July 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

It's been said by someone somewhere that one can never really come home again. I'm glad that's not true. Home is, well, home. After 10 hours on 2 planes, and an 8 hour drive north, we found ourselves back in the parking lot at the school, students and parents reunited. I am not sure who was more relieved: them or me! It was one of those moments where one just cannot decide if the past 10 days were a vivid group dream or if they really did happen.

Over the 12 days we were gone explored 4 distinct regions of the UK. We definitely didn't have enough time. We left so much undiscovered, and had to move on all too quickly. We met new people and made some friends. We argued, and laughed, debated, questioned authority, broke bread together and got to know some of each other's little idiosyncrasies. One of us lost a passport, but found it. That's a life lesson for sure. Somebody who wears a tuque, snores with her mouth open. Yes. You know who you are. One of us is a serious shopper. I mean serious. It's not me. I realized that I can survive just fine with a carry-on suitcase for 10 days. I would even leave some things at home. That surprised me. Jon got an estrogen overdose and may never recover. Jon, I apologize. Ian teased everyone to life when they were dull and grumpy. Who knew that pink and blue talking plastic crocodiles would provide endless amusement for 3 teenagers for hours on end? I did not know it could be possible before this trip. I learned how to feel utterly terrified when I could not find 4 of them for what felt like forever on an afternoon in Belfast. They felt my wrath. We forgave each other, and went on to have a really wonderful trip.

I was proud of the kids most of the time. That is certainly a victory, and as I write this in my classroom, jet-lagged and tired, I am very satisfied. I would do it again. Their enthusiasm and enjoyment cemented my commitment to the whole grand scheme. Hours of preparation, considerable dollars, and many meetings made it all worthwhile. What they learned, what we all learned, are things that simply cannot be taught in any classroom. For example, I have a new appreciation for the politics of Ireland for I understand now that conflict had to do more with loyalty and not religion. I admit my feelings about the English have changed. There's something about being colonized which leaves a bad taste in one's mouth. Sorry Grandpa Stephens. (My mom's father came to Canada from Bristol in the early 1900's. That makes me part English.)

With that written, I now concentrate on the next trip, which I am hoping will take place in 2018 and will be a tour of the best of England, including Stratford-Upon-Avon, Bath, Oxford, Stonehenge and Paris for a couple of days......until then, I bid you all adieu, and hope you enjoy the pictures I have posted with this post. These are some of my favourites of the trip. Anita Desai was right when she wrote, "Wherever you go, becomes a part of you somehow." May you find yourselves in some of these places. And if you go, please write yourself a blog. You will never regret it. I promise. -Carolyn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb