Where the roads don't go


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Churchill
October 27th 2010
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm back in the Reef Cafe where we had breakfast (my first hot meal in seven whole days, cinnamon French toast, it was fuckin WONDERFUL!), writing to kill an hour because I can't check in to my hotel yet. That Louise chick I spoke with on the phone seems to run the joint single handedly, cleaning rooms with her trolley while taking bookings over the phone in her crazy Northern sing-song happy parody voice (parrotty voice? haha)... This place is great. Really something. I'm glad I came. I feel lost without Charmaine but we'll run into each other soon enough, I'm sure, in a town with so few streets. Our trainmates were a lot of fun; firefighters, a nurse and a mining mechanic, jobs for serious people, but they're not at all. They got us merry on their personal stash. I'm hungover, but it's kind. I'm just hyperaware that I both look and smell like I just spent forty-eight hours on a train, drinking spirits. I actually slept upside down, head lolling off seat, hair tipping the floor, legs in the air, having usurped a total stranger's seat. What the hell? (I'm secretly proud.)

I am very happy that I loosened up enough to relax and just buzz with the Canucks on the train. Initially I was really intimidated; a group of loud bachelor jocks clearly out for a good time, just ingratiating themselves with us. I get the impression that the two girls would have been much happier if Char and I weren't there, there were some cold undercurrents.

Quite a Scandinavian vibe (I imagine) off this town, wooden houses in pastel colours, grey slate rocks, grey sea, grey sky. People very open and friendly so far. Some native faces. Free refills! The weather's really mild here, Ireland in March type deal. Apparently, because of the warmth the bears are just lolling around bored, not up to much. Don't feel the pressure to get organised for winter, I suppose.

Speaking of organisation, I have time but am not particularly happy to sit here and waste it. Only an hour til I can have a shower and sort my life out. Buzz. I am enjoying this. Really.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb