Leaving Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
October 14th 2006
Published: October 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So Im just one day away from flying away to South America. Years of dreaming will soon become a reality as I will finally return to South America for the first time since I left when I was 4 years old. I tied up most of my loose ends, finished my last day of work yesterday, now I'm packing my bags and getting ready for an adventure of a lifetime.

This is my plan so far: Tommorrow I fly with my good friend Nolan into Quito, Ecuador (which i just found out recently is the same day of its presidential elections! Hopefully i will pass the chaos by the time i get in!). After arriving in quito, we will head to the amazon jungle, then down towards the northern coast of peru for some well needed sun and sand.

Afterwards we'll arrive in Lima, and for the first time will be reconnected with a lot of family and the place of my birth. From there, on to macchu picchu and lake titicaca, then down through bolivia through the uyuni salt plains, and into northern argentina from where we'll hop on the "train to the clouds" that will take us into the northern desert coast of chile. More family connecting, then down the coast to santiago and talca for more family connections. then from there we'll go south to patagonia and work our way into buenos aires, and enter brasil through iguazu falls. from there we'll fly to salvador de bahia for carnival, and eventually go down the brasilian coast to rio. At that point im not sure what to expect. I have two options at that point: fly home as originally planned, or go to chile or peru and settle for a while.

this is the only time of my life where i'll have the freedom to make this type of choice. im young, single, have no kids, and am unemployed! so the time is now. now is the time to reconnect with family, learn to speak spanish fluently, and get a better sense about my roots and where i come from. Anyways, thats it for now. For now i'll just leave some photos of the beautiful city that im leaving for a while. i know i'll be back, all my best friends and immediate family will definitely inspire me to come home at some point. i know i will miss everyone deeply, so please if your reading these blogs, please drop me a comment here or email, i love to hear how everyone is doing.

Next post will be from Ecuador! I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!

one love





Advertisement



1st December 2006

Miss you !!
That is so amazing Migual. Yes, you will be surely missed ! I have high hopes and mucho confidence in you. You will enjoy yourself. Andrea

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb