Still homeless, still jobless


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
July 30th 2013
Published: July 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So still no luck finding somewhere to live. To say this harder than I imagined it would be is a bit of an understatement. I don't know if it's a tough process or I'm just finding it so tough because I've never had to do it before, but it does kind of suck!

First task is to find a listing that sounds ok, then check if it's still available, arrange a viewing, see if you're the 20th person to view it that day to find out if you have any chance of getting it, see if they like you, see if you like them and then hang around waiting to hear from them. I've been through 6 viewings and rejections and I've lost count of how many I've not heard back from to even arrange a viewing or had one arranged and then cancelled as they found someone else.

Part of me thinks maybe I'm being too selective and I should just take whatever I can, but then I also think I worked hard to set this up and get here. I deserve to get a place that works for what I want.

Don't get me wrong, it's not throw in the towel and run home time yet, far from it because I do love it here. Just starting to think that maybe Vancouver doesn't love me enough to stay here long term.

Trying to line up a few more places so we'll see how they go in the next few days and if nothing works out I'll continue to hostel surf until I work out what to do next. Maybe a change of plans is in order!!

On a more positive note, I went out to visit Capilano Suspension Bridge a couple of days ago. It's a 450ft suspension bridge, 230ft high and set in some amazing scenery. There is also a treetops walk which is platforms and walkways up in the trees and a cliff walk which is out on a suspended platform that hugs a cliff face.

I also took a trip to the Vancouver Art Gallery to check out that Grand Hotel exhibit which was all about the evolution of the hotel, from design and purpose to the pyshology of travellers. It was pretty interesting but I must say that a lot of the other exhibits were just lost on me. One of the installations was a 26min video that was on a permanent loop and it was a view of a guy asleep on the backseat of a car while the car drives around the city at night. Now seeing the lights of the city at night may sound cool, but the focus was all about the dude asleep on the backseat, just watching him sleep. I may have missed the point.......

Saturday night was the first of 3 nights of firework displays that launch from a massive barge out in English Bay. It was really good, lots of people come out and sit along the beach and there are all kinds of food trucks and refreshment stands. I had a great day chilling out and people watching. It was a UK team that did their display on Saturday, all set to a medley of James Bond theme songs which ended with Live and Let Die. It was pretty spectacular :-)

It's the turn of the Canadians on Wednesday!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb