The Olympic Committee Needs Your Help!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
February 23rd 2010
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is the final week of the Olympics, and it has been full of incredible competitions, experiences, and stories. The next summer Olympics will be in London, and the next Winter Games will be in Sochi, Russia. As the games conclude, and this interactive blog begins to finish, as well, I would like to thank everyone for following this bog, my experiences, and information I’ve shared with you. I really hope it has helped out your classrooms and study of the Olympics. It has been an incredible experience for me to attend these events in person, and I feel fortunate to have been able to share it with all of you.


While I do have a few more posts in the making from all that I have learned, I want to end this project on a high note. Along with the several smaller Olympic themed tasks I have suggested, I have one final task for all of you! Being as though there are nearly twenty classrooms subscribed to this, located in over six different states and Canadian Provinces, I thought an Olympic themed competition is in order.


The International Olympic Committee accepts written submissions from cities all over the world, trying to convince the committee their city is the very best city to hold the next available Olympics. When reading these papers, they take into account, hotels for all of the athletes and press, quality and amount of venues that will hold the Olympic events, possible improvements the city could make to help it host the Games, and other events that would go on to make the Olympic spirit blossom (like festivals, concerts, cultural or tourist sights).


The Olympic Committee hasn’t decided where to hold the 2018 Winter Olympics, nor the 2020 Summer Olympics, yet. The committee needs your help!


Your task is…


Write a paper convincing me that your city is the very best place in the world to host the next available Olympics (you can choose either the summer or winter games- which ever is more appropriate to where you live). Email your final paper to me by Monday, 1st. I will act as the Olympic Committee and choose the best paper, or the best city, to host the Olympics, and I will publish the submission as one of the last posts on this blog!


Remember,

you must convince me your city is the very best, based on those issues I mentioned above, and any other information that will make your city unique and stand out. Good luck to everyone and I look forward to reading your submissions!


Please email all your papers, and any questions you may have to:

wick2010olympics@hotmail.com



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb