Pre-Trip Happenings


Advertisement
Published: May 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

First Blog Post!!!! Get excited!!!

I'm off on a Study Tour to EU cities, then an internship at the Canadian Mission to the European Union in Brussels, with many side trips thrown in on a regular basis.

So I decided to get going on the blog before I left town.

The going away party already happened and it was remarkably tame compared to previous ones. The partiers and I watched the travesty unfold (also known as the Canucks losing game 2) before seabussing it over to Gas Town to continue the night's festivities.

We arrived at the Lamplighter as the skies decided to open. We were loaned an umbrella standing in line, but it was a solid 20 minutes before they proceeded to ask for id and then tell us about the $10 cover. $10 cover at a bar?!!?!?!??! Who chares cover at a bar?!?!?!? So we up and left the line and proceeded to what I think was the Metropol. I rerally have no idea what it was called, but it served beer, had no line up and didn't charge cover so it was all good. We hung out there for a while before wandering over to Lotus to rip it up on the dance floor. Guestlist meant no line up and cheap cover and the drinks were on special so it was going to be a good night after all. We got some pretty solid dance moves in, including me dropping it like it was hot on numerous occasion, before we bailed in order to avoid swimming back to the North Shore. All in all, a great night with great people.

Two days before I left, I got an email saying the room assignments for the study tour that preceeds my work with the Canadian Mission to the European Union in Brussels. I was supposed to be rooming with Viktoria, a fellow UBC student. The tour organizer asked for room-mate assignments, was given them, and apparently disregarded them entirely. I got in touch with him, and he said that he might be able to do something when we meet in Brussels. Why can't he accomplish something now? I'm also supposed to be staying there for two nights before the study tour, but I'm starting to wonder if that's going to happen. The room has been confirmed but that apparently doesn't mean much so we'll see if I'm sleeping on the street for a couple of nights once I get to Brussels. At least it's not winter.

Back by popular demand...

Things I've learned in Vancouver:

-$7 doubles are deadly!
-Canuck towels make excellent umbrellas.

Bye for now,

Peter



Advertisement



6th May 2009

YAAAAAYYYY!!! CAN'T WAIT!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.7kb