‘sno time like snow time


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The end of Vancouver (Part 1) and wow has it been snowing!

I woke to my last Sunday morning to several cm of snow and with temperatures remaining below 0’c all week (and dipping as low as -10’c I think), and some extra mid-week snow, Vancouver has been totally transformed into a Winter Wonderland.

The only thing is … after one week of snow I’m already sick ok it - I still find it pretty but having to be super careful walking to work (that ice is damn slippery - yep I fell flat on my bum at least once!) and the extra cold temperatures do kinda suck.

On the bright side, it hasn’t rained much and there have been quite a few, cold but sunny days.

The rest of the month I have been in wind-down mode: catching up with friends, farewelling friends and having some nice times at home.

I was house-sitting for Rael and Tracey for a couple of weeks which was really neat. Little Natalia was well behaved but sadly had to have most of her remaining teeth removed shortly after her mum and dad returned from their travel.

On Friday, I leave for New York (via Seattle) but, tempting fate, before my 6.30pm bus to Seattle I will be attending Davis LLP’s Christmas lunch. Let’s hope I don’t have a repeat of last year and my missed flight to Portugal!!!

After a short stay in New York, I then spend Christmas in Montreal, return to New York for New Year’s Eve and then make a short trip to Toronto before my flight back to Manchester.

Speaking of which, my Manchester plans are coming together nicely. I'm hoping to slip back into my old job at Horwich Farrelly (thanks Alison!) and I've lined up a house share as well. And of course I have a long list of gigs I want to go to as well :- )

Given that it is that time of the year, a special thank you to everyone that has read my blog, send me messages and emails and wishing you all a great end to the year and hoping everyone has a much better 2009 (for 2008 was surely a year of ups and downs for a lot of those close to me!).

Pete


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb