Vancouver and back to the U.S. (cont)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

PNEPNEPNE

The Pacific National Exhibition is an annual event in Vancouver. Lots of rides for the kids as well as exhibits for the older folks to browse.
Al and I really saw the sights of Vancouver and area. The first day we went to the PNE (Pacific National Exhibition) which is very similar to the Austin County Fair only on a bigger scale.
Beverley flew in for the weekend on Thursday so we went to Seattle to pick her up. It was a good chance for me to see where I would be driving when I eventually leave Canada to go to the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State. Needless to say no matter how long a stay -- a game of golf had to be arranged. The next week flew by, another game of golf, a trip to Fort Langley and Victoria which was terrific.
I had mixed feelings leaving Canada. I have been surrounded by family and friends for the last ten weeks and was now heading out on my own again. I awoke to a light drizzle, just enough to make everything, including my clothes, wet! Unfortunately, it rained all the way to Ocean Shores which turned out to be a more strenuous drive than I had thought. Thankfully the park is absolutely beautiful which makes the journey here worth the trouble.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Sand SculptureSand Sculpture
Sand Sculpture

Not yet complete but still quite impressive
GameGame
Game

The maditory game of golf was played at the Delta Golf Course. I walked and enjoyed nature--as well as the occasional "birdie" of course
Tiger LilliesTiger Lillies
Tiger Lillies

Just beautiful
Totem PolesTotem Poles
Totem Poles

These totem poles have been in Stanley Park for a long time. There is an explanation for each one. The one on the far right is a mortuary pole.
Sulphur PlantSulphur Plant
Sulphur Plant

In Vancouver Harbor
Foggy DewFoggy Dew
Foggy Dew

My niece's husband manages an Irish bar called the Foggy Dew in Surrey, BC. When I told him how authentic it was he told me that they make the entire interior and ship it over from Ireland.
Ferry rideFerry ride
Ferry ride

The easiest way to get to the Iron Mountain golf course is by taking a short ferry ride across the Fraser River.
The MountainThe Mountain
The Mountain

The golf course is a MONSTER. Built around the side of a mountain; there isn't a single freeway that is on the flat. Al rented a golf cart for JoAnn and myself so that we could follow him and his buddies. They called us his "support group."
Going DownGoing Down
Going Down

The course is a challenge to drive the golf cart let alone the golf club!
Fort LangleyFort Langley
Fort Langley

The oldest established town in British Columbia
WhiterockWhiterock
Whiterock

A cute little coastal town just about 5 miles from my RV park in Surrey


Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb