Canada


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Spent 3 weeks in Canada and mainly in Vancouver with a 3 night trip to Whistler and a one night trip to Victoria on Vancouver Island.

Vancouver is a big city and has Stanley Park, which is a huge park the same size as downtown Vancouver! The city also has a suprising amount of homeless people.

Whistler is where Winter Olympics 2010 will be held and the village look like a swiss alp village from a Disney movie 😊
Lot of beatiful houses and the village is like a labyrinth where you mainly are only allowed to walk and none of the paths are really straight, just windy and it's easy to loose your sense of directions.
Whistler is in the wilderness and in bear country so you might see a bear anywhere including the village and there was a thieving bear that stole fruits through a hostel window one morning and when I was mountain biking I got to see three bears 😊
Downhill mountain biking turned out to be one of top things I done during my trip 😊 Speed, jumps, adrenalin and some bad crashes all created an experience I want to do again ! The bike had lot of suspension so a beginner like me could do suprisingly much and combined with the full body armor I was wearing I dared to go faster and higher then I thought possible.

My visit to Victoria town on Vancouver Island was not as exciting since it is more a pretty little town with some old buildings and lots of tourists. Since I visited similar towns during my travels I probably couldn't appreciate it as much as I would if I just went there on a short holiday.
On my way I got to see for the first time in my life a sea gull nest. I assumed they had nests, but I never actually seen those before.
Will later on post the photos from Victoria and Canada Day once I find good internet again



Additional photos below
Photos: 71, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb