Day 1 - Haven't Left Yet...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 1? Barely... although the prospect of heading across the world by myself, for the first time ever, has me freaking out quite a bit! So why not start here?!?!? My life is all about drama and excitement anyways, so why not let you into my world and entertain you... let's face it, you all love to live vicariously through me, so jump on board and let me do what I am best at: being a quiet mischief who will never grow up...

So let me set the stage for this trip.

The idea of Australia started about a year ago... but if you really want an honest answer (and a long one), it started when I was 14. It has always been a dream of mine. About a year ago, my best friend Danielle and her fiancée decided to go to Australia on a working visa for a year. The opportunity spoke to me and I was beyond excitement at the prospect of finally realizing my dream. Well needless to say that plans changed, and Danielle ended up getting her dream job at Cirque du Soleil as a physiotherapist. I am so proud of her! So months before I plan to travel to see her in my fantasy land, she comes back to Canada, trains for her position, and heads down to Brazil. So what's a girl to do!?!?!? The dream had, by this point, reached many people and the flame within me could not be extinguised. So what the hell, I decided that I wasn't going to let other people's plans take over my own. I was going to go.

By a strange twist of fate (and my life, as you know, is all about strange twists of fate or STF), my climbing friend Liz (also known as Lizzie, Lizzie-pooh, Booth, Boothy) was also going to Australia around the same time I was planning on going... although our schedules wouldn't match up exactly, and her plans were a bit more restrictive...

So the plan starts to grow... and I decide to buy my plane ticket. Sydney, Hobart, Melbourne and Brisbane... and let's not forget the amazing 14 hour layover in Los Angeles to start things off!!

So what now?

Well, I'm basically freaking out... with the past month being so busy at work and within my personal life, the trip of a lifetime has taken somewhat of a backseat... but 3 days before flight day, it's starting to become an incessant poking reminder, like a crying child in the back seat of a car... What needs to be done? How much time do I have to do it? How long am I going for again? Where am I sleeping? Am I really leaving in 3 days!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Life would also have it that, after month of fantasizing about meeting the man of my dreams in Australia (the odds are really in my favour aren't they?!?!!?) and talking it up to everyone, a man would appear in my life and that I would effectively not be single leaving for my trip... Now that's a Louise STF if I've ever heard of one... Long story short (and believe me, it is a long story that requires a blog of its own), my life has taken a turn for the better, but now I must put it on hold...

Poor guy - doesn't really know what he's gotten himself into, has he!??!?! Be nice, don't tell him 😉...

So this is where I am... Stay tune for more adventures!

Advertisement



28th June 2008

yay lou!!!
louise!!! you will flip out at how amazingly gorgeous australia is!!! yipee!!! don't worry about a thing. you can't wait to get here!!! i can't wait to see you !!! for now, i'm leaving to go up the coast for a few days with heather and her parents, but we will be back before next friday. there is basically an empty house for you to stay in here in wollongong (except for heather and i) and beautiful beaches and weather and people and accents!! so i guess the outback surfer cowboys here will be disappointed at their loss, the wonderful lou, but you will have a great trip anyway. i am most intrigued to here about your twist of fate :0) can't wait to see you soon. much love, lizzie

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb