Ultimate Everything


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
September 15th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This blog is in danger of becoming a photo blog at the moment, not that there is anything wrong with that. But words are hard to come by if they don't happen straight away. Events and conversations become a blur. I guess it is also that I am using words all day for work, so they get all used up by the end of the day.

I will try to write a little more regularly again, but in the meantime, here's a recap on the last couple of weeks:

Jono's parents - Marilyn and Richard - got here just over ten days ago have been renting out the house above our cozy little basement apartment again, like mum and Dad and J did. They are in Torronto at the moment visiting a friend, but will be back here again in a few
days.

Needless to say it has been great seeing them. Having friends and family around from home makes the world feel small. We have not
really done very much with them, mostly leaving them to be self sufficient tourists. A challenge they have taken in their stride, quite literally, when they walked all the way to and around Stanley Park from Waterfront station. Jonno took a day off work and took them up to Squamish to show them around, and show them our favourite piece of rock. (We are very predictable tour guides aren't we?) We all went for a bit of a paddle at Deep Cove on another day, Jono and I in our trusty sunny innova in the sun. I got drenched and noted that the water and air temperature both seemed to have taken a dramatic dive since I last went out with mum and dad. The weather though has turned on its absolute charm, to the point that I feel no one will believe me when I say that sun is a rare event here.

I haven't taken any days off but Jono and I both plan to take some time off in a week or so to go to the Rockies with Marilyn and Richard which we are excited about. Can't wait. Although, I don't think a week is going to be long enough for all the climbing, hiking, exploring, white water rafting and hot spring bathing I'd like to do there. But then life is not long enough for all the (ready for the big list) climbing, hiking, traveling, bike riding, surfing, swimming, kayaking, camel riding (why not), scuba diving, hang gliding, reading, dancing, playing, writing, drawing, cooking, eating, drinking, talking, thinking I want to do. I cut the list short there, as I am sure you all know. Suffice to say, such is life. Enjoy what you get, and I am sure I will enjoy a week in the rockies. How could you not? It looks like an amazing landscape.

So, away from the future back to the past. Last Saturday Jono and I could not resist the temptation to climb on a sunny day, knowing that sunny days were going to end very very soon, when rain and grey skies will settle in and be our world for months. So M and R went and spent some time with Barb and Brian (the guys that they met on their Europe trip and that we have spent a bit of time with already over here.) And we... went climbing, just to be different.

It wasn't just an average day of climbing though, as the photos show. It was brilliant. We hooked up with Bertram and Damo
DamoDamoDamo

life, granite and everything
and did a 15 pitch climb - called Ultimate Everything, about 350 - 400 vertical meters. A satisfying and exhausting day of cracks and friction and slabs. I only led one pitch. But next timeā€¦

Now back to the present, and the dinner that Jono has made for me waiting on the table. Stir fry with fat rice noodles. Yum.



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

DamoDamo
Damo

the ultimate maximum everything that ever was is here on this piece of rock
JonoJono
Jono

Untangling
BertramBertram
Bertram

Leaning back into the ultimate... nothing
JonoJono
Jono

and rock and sky and everything
Bertram and I Bertram and I
Bertram and I

and how many times can I use the words everything and ultimate?
MeMe
Me

I asked Jono to supply a sentance with the words "ultimate" and "everything in it, 'cause I was running out of inspiration and he said: "you are the ultimate girlfriend and you have everything that I want" Awwwe. so sweet.
MeMe
Me

Intrusive igneous ultimately becomes everything
JonoJono
Jono

Reaching the ultimate end
DamoDamo
Damo

Reaching the ultimate end with everything awaiting
DamoDamo
Damo

Reaching the ultimate end with everything awaiting
MeMe
Me

Taking in the meaning of Ultimate Everything
 and Damo and Damo
and Damo

doing likewise
the viewthe view
the view

from the top
the typical sun-streaked walk offthe typical sun-streaked walk off
the typical sun-streaked walk off

not bothering with the word game anymore


16th September 2007

rad
aces, ultimately amazing . 15 pitches of greatness indeed. looks freekn exceptional, makes me want to buy a plane ticket....hmm...

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb