Life


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Life is good. Ticking along. In the interests of maintaining a blog, I will just put a few quick words up here without boring you too much about the mundane details.

We have not really done too much tourist stuff, just a lot of local living stuff, like dinners, bbq’s and parties with friends. Good climbing at the local crag that is the Chief, runs, walks, bike rides…

A couple of friends from Canberra are around at the moment (Damo and Bertram), so that has been fun and kinda weird. We all met up at a pub in town last night, and wondered who else we could get over here from the Nation’s heartland. If Nick was still here, we’d have a mini-thriving Canberra community! Anyone tempted? Have we told you how good the rock over here is? It is GOOD!

I am settling quickly into my new lifestyle of working from home. Can’t say I miss retail one little bit! Yesterday I slept in (till about 9am), then went for a jog in the forest, followed by a swim in the river and a lie in the sun all BEFORE I started work, then did a sweet five hours of editing and html coding, before hanging out in a pub with a couple of old friends. Life can’t get better, really.

It has been sunny all week, and Jono and I are busy crossing fingers and touching wood and praying to every god we can think of that this trend will continue over the weekend so that we can go camp under the Chief and do some REAL climbing. We have really only had one big day on multi-pitching since we have been here… so here’s hoping.

That’s about it, for now.

Oh, and our neighbour, Bob (I’ll have to get a photo of him!) just dropped off some more homemade fudge and rhubarb. He said to say “hello” to my family and is looking forward to meeting Jono’s parents!

And I have also included some pictures Dad sent me from Mum, Dad and Jen's visit.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The local riverThe local river
The local river

This tranquil looking pool is actually not so tranquil. A lot of local kids jump in to it from the bridge (where I am taking the photo), and every couple of years I think it claims a life. But it is beautiful.
Jono exploringJono exploring
Jono exploring

after a paddle one evening near our place.
PotentialPotential
Potential

We found this potential deep water boulder problem for another day, a scrubbing brush and a pair (or two) of swimmers.
Dad in VictoriaDad in Victoria
Dad in Victoria

Parliament house in the background
ME sitting in the hotel door wayME sitting in the hotel door way
ME sitting in the hotel door way

Shaving my legs, as you do!
The McConnachie clanThe McConnachie clan
The McConnachie clan

in the vegie Cafe
Mum, Jen and IMum, Jen and I
Mum, Jen and I

in the bar, Victorai


Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb