Homesick


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post


singing the national anthem

bagpipe interval
I’ve been back 3 weeks and it feels like a lifetime ago that I was drudging through dirty Glasgow streets and contemplating the consequences of quitting the relentless work of school. I’ve gone on 2 three hour thigh crunching bike rides. I’ve lost all the weight that was gained from many nights of cheese cake feasting. I’ve developed a tan worthy of the most pretentious Vancouverite. I’ve seen at least 10 wee dogs in purses. Most interestingly, though, I’ve done almost no work! I haven’t even gone to run the basic necessity errands to reinstate myself as a resident of Canada.

I miss Scotland so much it’s not even funny. It is a lot to say for a small country with a rebellious climate that even in the middle of the hardest time of my life when the work seemed impossible to complete and the self doubt and consciousness was bubbling to the surface I never for one instant thought I did not love Scotland. I love the people; I love the land; I love the animals; I love the sounds. The only thing I didn’t love was the food.
I still have all my pounds sterling sitting on my desk. I just don’t want to admit to myself that I really won’t be going back.

It seems I can’t do anything work related like trying to find a job or getting my shit together for applying for teaching jobs without Jordanhill lighting a fire on my ass and telling me to go OR ELSE! The motivation has left me like the fire has gone out. What’s disturbing is I’m not bothered. Being a bum is pretty relaxing.

Finally my Scottish friends have come over from some months living in Toronto. I’ve spent 4 days straight with Ewan and Gordon. They make me sad sometimes by reminding me of the relationships I used to have in Scotland. Jeanette is my sister on all ways but blood. Jeanette if you’re reading this, you can start collecting those dolls and I’ll start on the clocks.

We went to the Scotland vs. Costa Rica under 20’s game. We were tied 1-1 until 10 seconds to the end of the game CR scored. Disappointment would be an understatement at this point. I’m sure I saw a tear roll down Ewan’s face. I just put my face in my beer soaked Scotland scarf hoping for some announcement of a disqualified goal. It never happened. We lost, we lose a lot. The only time I remember Scotland winning anything, including game shows and such, was the France game. The Scots had a pretty small celebration for that win as you will have read in one of my past entries. NOT!!!

We drowned our sorrows in a few drinks after the game and ended up at a “Maritime” pub. Did you know the Nova Scotia flag is all the Scotland flags combined with the colours reversed?

I guess the big question now is:

Will Ewan and Gordon still have pasty white bodies by the end of their summer in Vancouver?



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



13th July 2007

shitty.
it's so hard to leave a place with so many wonderful memories....that is for sure. sorry to hear scotland lost. p.s. bring your bike to kelowna....i've been riding like a banshee in the wind for the past two weeks...it'd be awsome to ride around with you!
22nd July 2007

So proud
Nice video clips dont really know the guys (although i feel in this world of virtualness im begining too) im so proud of them! Although i didnt hear your voice Miss Kha
25th July 2007

I was singing!
I was the one who yelled out "guess who!" although ewan and gordon keep arguing about what people actually yell out.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb