More Hokkaido Pictures


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Better late than never. Maybe.
Here are some more of the pictures from Hokkaido.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Calorie MateCalorie Mate
Calorie Mate

This is a block of... something. I suppose lots of vitamins and nutritional thingies. I took a bunch of them with me, for eating on the way. There was chocolate, Fruit, and vegetable flavours. They tasted surprisingly good, and were very filling. Cheap too.
Black ChocolateBlack Chocolate
Black Chocolate

Very nice chocolate. I have been told people enjoying seeing the pictures of products.
Nacho Cheese DoritosNacho Cheese Doritos
Nacho Cheese Doritos

They taste like Doritos.
CookiesCookies
Cookies

At $1 a box, these cookies were a great deal. I ate way too many of them.
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

There is a park near where I lived, that contained a natural volcanic mud pool. These are some of the flowers in the park.
Danger Zone!Danger Zone!
Danger Zone!

I'm not sure how deadly the mud is, but it smells terrible. Sulfur. The smell alone may kill someone.
Mud 1Mud 1
Mud 1

It bubbles alot. The town gets hot water from the volcano. The bath where I lived was natural volcanic spring water. Very pleasant.
Bokke!Bokke!
Bokke!

They call this hot mud "Bokke" because it makes a sound kinda like that when it bubbles. At least that's the explanation I was given. The sign in the following picture claims it's an Ainu word. The Ainu are the indigenous peoples of Hokkaido.
Marimo MonumentMarimo Monument
Marimo Monument

This appears to be some kind of monument to the Marimo. The famous Algae. I wonder if anywhere else in the world has a monument dedicated to Algae. I'm guessing no.
Danger Zone 2!Danger Zone 2!
Danger Zone 2!

I love the English translation on this.
Lake SingerLake Singer
Lake Singer

This person was singing and doing lots of hand movements. It was amusing.
LakeLake
Lake

The lake was very nice.
SnakeSnake
Snake

Slithery.
HotelsHotels
Hotels

The primary, nearly sole, source of income for this town. Hotels full of tourists, come to see the Marimo.
Ferry PortFerry Port
Ferry Port

There's a little ice cream stand near the ferry. It has "Marimo ice cream". But I asked, and it's just vanilla dyed green. I was sad. The ferry goes to the Marimo Observatory, an island with an underwater viewing chamber.
Marimo KittyMarimo Kitty
Marimo Kitty

Yes. Hello Kitty encased in a giant Marimo.
Marimo RamenMarimo Ramen
Marimo Ramen

This is an advertisement for Marimo Ramen. I never got a chance to try it, but I'm almost positive it wouldn't have actual Marimo in it. I would have just been disappointed.
Electronic BearElectronic Bear
Electronic Bear

When you walked by, this bear would growl and move. Beside this, was a shop with Ainu crafts that always had Jazz music playing.
Pan de PanPan de Pan
Pan de Pan

The most modern building in town. A bakery. A place of immense joy. More on this shortly..
Pan de Pan 2Pan de Pan 2
Pan de Pan 2

A welcome sight, the doors to Pan de Pan. That is Colin, he is a Bostonian. When I left the town, the people at Pan de Pan gave me a big bag of pastries.
Pan de Pan!Pan de Pan!
Pan de Pan!

My favourite place in town. Incredible breads and pastries, with a french influence. They even had mille-feuille. Some highlights: Walnut and cream cheese roll (stuffed to exploding with cream cheese). Fresh baguettes. Giant pizza rolls with sausage and peppers. Camembert roll. Too much to mention. I went every day.
StatuesStatues
Statues

I don't think I've seen any other bakeries with their own Cherub band.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb