Victoria


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Realising that America was burning a serious hole in the pocket, the minute I hit Canada I vowed to be more careful with my money....then realised that there were opportunities to Orca watch! The whole saving idea went out the window and I promptly booked myself on a trip! Picked the evening one so I could see the sunset and make the most of the dying winds! Which gave me the whole day to kill....opted for the walking tours - self guided of course and 'did' victoria entirely for free - well with the exception of seriously painful feet!

waited for ages, told that trip wasn't going, trasnsferred to Prince of Whales, donned a beautiful red jumpsuit - set off
Failed first attempt - sat in the harbour and the engine spluttered to a halt! WHilst simultaneously setting off every alarm on the console.....we were in trouble!

booked on the next morning - SUCCESS - must have been fate other boats that had gone out the previous evening hadn't seen any whales - but we did. They were beauticful - so graceful I thought, until one did one of those huge belly flop things - unfortunately I wasn't quite quick enough on the camera for that one - they just appeared all of a sudden and before you knew it all you were left with was the residual splash! Met a lovely kiwi - susie - who was crew on a yacht in France - went for drinks with no one other than Jon from Fraser Island - I know bumped into him again - worked out that this was the 5th time! Arrgghhhh he was following me - of that I am sure! Small world indeed though!

http://www.10best.com/ really good guide


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

An OrcaAn Orca
An Orca

seriously difficult to photograph!


Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb