Victoria, BC


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island » Victoria
September 19th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Beacon Hill ParkBeacon Hill ParkBeacon Hill Park

One of the pretty ponds in the park
We got into Victoria, BC sometime overnight. It’s a pretty short trip from Vancouver. After breakfast Pam and Mary decided to go on a short excursion to try and catch the orcas migrating. I decided to wander. I settled on exploring Beacon Hill Park, very close to where we docked. After I oohed and aahed over the exterior of the Empress Hotel, I walked on over to the park. It’s actually a very big park with lots of nice features but I didn’t know that until I got home. Anyway, I got what I wanted, some nice pictures and a quiet walk. Then I headed downtown to try and find a place to get my nails done. They were driving me nuts. I got lucky with a one-man operation near Chinatown. While I waited for my appointed time I went into a used bookstore and picked up some books by a favorite author. The store was packed with all kinds of books…I felt right at home. After the nail appointment - he did a great job - I wandered into Chinatown. It’s just one block but really very lively. I ate at Forum restaurant, it was recommended by the nail technician
Beacon Hill ParkBeacon Hill ParkBeacon Hill Park

I couldn't believe they had a bleeding heart TREE!
and by a local shop owner who took me there since she had to pick up her own lunch. I hooked up with Pam and Matt and family and watched them eat dim sum at another restaurant in Chinatown. They had a very successful boat trip. They were able to get close to a “super-pod” - three local pods converged together - of 90 orcas. Pretty cool. We shopped a little more then headed back to the ship. All in all, I really liked Victoria. Kind of quaint, small, lots of pretty flowers everywhere and really nice people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Beacon Hill ParkBeacon Hill Park
Beacon Hill Park

Just a pretty flower bed


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb