Let's go already!


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I’m just killing time at home waiting for this trip to get started. I’m running the odd errand here and there, but they are things I could have wrapped up a week ago and could be ready to hit the road at a days notice. Unfortunately I have a few more days until it’s time to fly out, but with no work or any other commitments I’m feeling fairly bored and impatient for my trip to start.

On the plus side my visa for China arrived today. I knew it wouldn’t be a problem as I planned out enough time to get it processed and returned before I needed to leave. Some uneasiness, however, had set in as it was the last true obstacle before this trip became a reality. But now that it’s here the trip is set to go and China is open to me… at least until I do something dumb and get deported. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen, but it’s always a possibility. Careful of what you take a picture of is what I’ve been hearing plenty of. I’m sure it won’t be a problem though as long as I travel smart and safe. That, and the fact that Emma will be coming along and women are always the voice of reason.

So the last big thing in Victoria will be the BBQ that I’m throwing semi-last minute tomorrow night. It’s set to kick off at my house around 6ish and if anyone who’s reading this has not been invited along yet, make sure you stop on by. It will be a nice send off, but seems a bit excessive as I’ll be right back in Victoria for school in the fall. Oh well, any reason to party is a good reason I guess.

This should be the last of the boring entries as the next one should be coming direct from Shanghai. Sorry to make you suffer through another aimless and mundane entry, but thought I should ease any worries about the joke I made on my pending visa last time (got the e-mail mom, no worries). Talk to you all from the PRC!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb