You want me to run how far?!?


Advertisement
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Edge to Edge marathonEdge to Edge marathonEdge to Edge marathon

Jeannie ran the 1/2 marathon in just 1:44. Then we went for a hike after. She is my hero!
Here's to another beautiful day in paradise. We woke up this morning to a very thick fog (how Tofinoesque!) and a blanket of mist. It was the thickest mist I have ever seen. It felt like waling through a cloud. It was a little bizarre, as everything was quite wet, but no real rain. That cleared up pretty quickly though, and although it's still cloudy and foggy, it's also very warm. I love what the humidity does to my hair and skin! It's almost worth putting up with the clouds.

Jeannie and I woke up late, and had to rush to get ready for the big race on time. It was the quickest we got ready since Jeannie got to my place. I think I will add here that it is a truly different experience travelling with baby. (Jeannie, if you ever read this, I hope you don't get offended by what I am about to write!) Everything takes two times as long. There's many more stops and breaks. The day starts later and ends earlier. It's definately a more relaxed travel pace, although just as much work. Little Keira is a dream though. She really is a trooper, here
Fletchers CoveFletchers CoveFletchers Cove

Me and Ty at Fletchers Cove, on the way to the blowhole
on her first camping trip. And she looks so small all by herself in that big tent! Definately a Gerber baby. And the happiest one out there, I bet.

So anyways, back to the big race. It was all very fun and exciting for me, having never been to any race event. There were 300 people registered for the half marathon. That's a whopping 21.1 kms. Really just silly to try to run it. I won't even start on the full marathon. The weather was perfect, and the race started without a hitch. Jeannie ran the whole thing in 1:44. So fast that I couldn't find her on the course to cheer her on.

Keira, Ty and I went for a lovely walk around Ucluelet, stumbling upon Big Beach where we sat and basked in the sounds and smell of the ocean for a while. It's so beautiful. Now yet another break to feed the kid, and clean Jeannie, then it's off to the best fish and chips in the world. After that a hike along Long Beach, where hopefully we will see any number of sea life.

Goodbye for now,
Cathy


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Gnomes ForestGnomes Forest
Gnomes Forest

Jeannie, tired of getting her picture taken. This was on the way to the blowhole. It was basically HUGE tree roots everywhere. Perfect for breaking ankles.
Big BeachBig Beach
Big Beach

Some very phallic looking driftwood on Big Beach in Uclulet. Should I have taken infant Keira there?
Edge to Edge marathonEdge to Edge marathon
Edge to Edge marathon

A very happy Jeannie with Keira


12th June 2006

Sounds great!
Hi Cathy, So were you in the race or just Jeannie? Whatever it is sounds like you are having a ball!! I am assuming this is the Jeannie Worth that we knew as a little girl. Say Hi for us. Who is Ty? I love reading about your adventures. Love Laurie

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb