What kind of school?


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone!

In what’s turning into a very recurring theme with this blog, it’s been a while since I’ve updated it. So it’s time for an update!

Since April I’ve been back home in Nanaimo, laying low and taking it easy, while catching up with some family and friends that I hadn’t seen in a while. As well, I had the opportunity to work with the Child Development Center as a support worker for a couple different kids at summer camps throughout the city. Not only was it a unique learning experience, but I got to work with some great kids, amazing co-workers and I got the chance to play tourist in my own town as we did a lot of out trips through a city that I haven’t really lived in for almost 8 years. Of course the summer wasn’t all work, I got to camp a bit, finally went to a Canucks game (a playoff game to boot!) and I was able to break the 50 minute mark (49:44) in the TC 10K.

Anyways, as summer winds down, I find myself packing my bags once more getting ready to head out on another adventure. However, I’m not headed off to another ship; I’m moving to London, England for a year to go teach! I’ll be working at Sacred Heart Language School in the borough of Harrow, which is in the northwest of London. The school is an all-girls catholic school for students 11-16 and I’ll be teaching a combination of Math, Science and PE. Although the school year starts on the 2nd of September, I’ll be leaving in two days in order to figure out where I’m going to live and to try and to get as acclimated to the city as I can before the term starts.

Since the English school system is a little different than here (3 terms, school ends in July), I’ll have a few weeks off during the year which will hopefully give me the opportunity to explore the UK and the rest of Europe. As such, I’m going to try and update this thing a little more with stories and pictures of my travels (and probably teachings) as well as a little bit about the experience of moving to another country. So, keep an eye out for updates! Also, if you find yourself in London between now and next July, let me know; the door is always open!

Take care and keep in touch

Zach


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.8kb