Thursday in Sechelt


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Sechelt
June 23rd 2022
Published: June 25th 2022
Edit Blog Post

My Peterson pipeMy Peterson pipeMy Peterson pipe

Enjoyed this pipe down by the water this morning in Sechelt.
This morning I brought a pipe with me down to the water front to have a bit of quiet time. I brought my Peterson pipe loaded up with a tobacco that had a bit of coffee flavouring. Delicious. It was nice to just be by the water and hear it ‘lapping’ up against the shore. Visually beautiful along there. If I lived there, that would be a morning routine spot for sure. Gorgeous.

Then, I went to pick up some breakfast for Jeanne and I. I went to Ricky’s All Day Grill Pancake House and bought a couple of breakfasts. I brought them home and she was in the living room sipping on the coffee that I had made before I left. She was very surprised with the breakfast. Scrambled eggs, rye toast, buttermilk pancakes, bacon, sausage….it was a feast (and we stretched it out for three breakfasts!).

After completing breakfast and cleaning up, I went down to the storage locker to get an eyeball on things there. I found a treasure trove of old photo albums from the 1930‘s and 40’s that belonged to my grandmother, and a whole bunch of other photos. I spent a few hours
Dad and IDad and IDad and I

My last visit before I left Sechelt for the mainland.
down there before I went to drive to Gibsons to visit Dad.

I then went to go and visit with Pops. I gave him a nice shave and brushed his hair for him. We sat in his room and ‘broke muffin’ together. Couple of coffees to round things out. He was pretty quite and not too animated. That changed when I started to whip out some music to entice him from my iPhone. He LOVED it. Came alive and even mumbled some of the lyrics. Johnny Horton “North To Alaska”, The Statler Brothers “Flowers On The Wall”, The Oak Ridge Boys “Elvira”, Mason Williams “Classical Gas”, Glen Campbell “Wichita Lineman”, Sonny & Cher “I Got You Babe”, Luciano Pavarotti “Turandot: Nessun dorma!”, Enrico Caruso “O sol mio”, and Jussi Björling “Les Pecheurs de Perles”. He loved them all, but the operatic tunes sent him over the edge in glee.

We then wrapped up our visit. He shuffled with me to the door to say goodbye. Man, that was hard. Brutal. It’s the worst thing about visiting a loved one, is saying goodbye.

I then drove from there back home to see Jeanne. We made sausages and baby
Cigar with ChrisCigar with ChrisCigar with Chris

Enjoying a fine Cuban cigar from this fine fellow.
round potatoes served with butter, salt, and pepper.

Not long after supper was done, my friend Chris came by to visit. We sat out on the deck and enjoyed a fine Cuban cigar from 2018 that he brought for me. Magical. Flavour and draw was so tasty. We enjoyed our time together, and then, sadly, it was time for him to head back up to Madeira Park, and I to bed.

Another fine day done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb