Day 85 Shuswap Lake


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Salmon Arm
July 12th 2018
Published: July 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I rose very early which has been quite normal throughout our time away. It was a beautiful, still and slightly cloudy and the sun had not yet risen. I made a cuppa, went down to the floatable jetty and in-between stretching and sitting on one of the chairs available, waited for the sun to rise. With no one about I had the silence to myself. I stayed well after the sun rose to face the mountains behind our accommodation so as to watch the mist and cloud that had enveloped them and their cedar tree covering, rise and evaporate. This was a special part of the morning for me.

With Wayne at the helm of his bow rider, Lori, Jane and I hit the water for a few hours on the lake, firstly making our way across the lake, which by now had a cool breeze blowing along it, to a refuelling depot. Entering the area, we were greeted by many Canadian Geese feeding on the weed and fighting amongst themselves. From there it was a cruise along the shoreline before turning towards the middle of the lake to pass around Copper Island, an island of total rock, no berths
and no inhabitants. From Reedman Point we headed back home to watch England play Croatia in the semi-final of the World Cup and lose 2-1. A scrumptious lunch followed.

I then headed out for my first paddle since I said goodbye to the Canning River on 17 April. Pretty rusty but good to feel the arms turnover. This was followed by helping Wayne and Lori set the Hobie Cat up. Jane was lying on the jetty soaking up the sun and fully engrossed in reading a book. Wayne and I headed out however we returned about 20 minutes later due to a lack of wind. The sun had a real bite to it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement













Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb