July 4, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 34. 11,423Km
Today it was time to hook up with my friends from Kitchener again. Monica's cousin has a cottage outside Cranbrook, BC so that was my destination today. I got to take the very pleasant drive to Iridium Springs again on the way there. I had forgotten about the hug stone cut just as you descended into town from the East. The rock actually curves back out over you a bit. There was no need to stop along the way because I fueled up in Lake Louise before I left. I also filled my fresh water tank which I emptied over the previous days because the provincial park only had electricity and I did'nt fill it before I parked. Emptying the dump tanks took way too long this morning. I think half of Denmark was camping along with me. There was a huge line of rental RV's and one had a sign in it saying "Denmark tours Canada". There was a lot of shleebin shlobin going on and one older gentleman seemed to be helping the squeamish girls. Once reaching my destination finding a spot to camp was next. This is a trailer park, not a campground but the owners knew a guy with an extra lot that he would rent me for the weekend so that worked out.
Once settled My friend Kevin and I went out on the 4 wheelers he was raving about. There is a trail right off the park that goes to a series of trails in the area. We went up an old logging road to the top of one of the mountains. Other than getting dusty I must admit it was fun and the view was pretty good too. My camera took it's last picture on that mountain though. Once we got back to camp I noticed that in the bouncing around it turned it's self on and then the lens got jammed bouncing around. I'm told the mountains here are older than those around Lake Louise and that is why they are not as tall. The trees actually go all the way to the tops in this area.
After the traditional camping dinner of BBQ'd hot dogs with potato salad we sat around the fire till the wee hours and laughed, kicked over a few drinks and try as he may Kevin could not get Monica's son, who came from Vancouver to meet her, to get out his guitar.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

entering Radiumentering Radium
entering Radium

from the East
view from the topview from the top
view from the top

the last photo the Panasonic ever took


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb