Direction la frontiere des Etats-Unis / Let's go to the US border


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Waterton Park
August 30th 2015
Published: September 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Le debut de la journee a ete eprouvant autant moralement que physiquement. Le vent soufflait toujours sur le Waterton National Park lorsque je me dirigeais vers la frontiere. Cela fait 3 jours que ca n’arrete pas jour comme nuit. La force du vent est d’une moyenne de 50km/h avec des bourrasques a 80km/h. Difficile de se reposer lorsque des bourrasques tordent les branches des arbres et font crier leurs feuilles. A l’abri d’un grand arbre, ou protege par une dune de terre, le vent arrive a tracer son chemin jusqu’à moi. Enveloppe dans une bache me coupant du vent et camoufle par mon sac de couchage, il ne fait pas vraiment froids. Mais c’est le bruit, meme avec des boules « Qui-est-ce ! », j’entends les elements de dechainer autour de moi. Et puis, il y a ces instants ou tu te reveille en sursaut a cause d’une branche casse et vient te frapper dans la nuit.

Le jour, ce n’est pas vraiment mieux. C’est tres enervant quand vous grimpez une cote raide a velo et qu’au milieu de l’effort, une bourrasque vous arrete net et continue a vous frapper pendant plusieurs longues secondes, vous immobilisant sur place. C’est un peu comme si quelqu’un vous criait a la figure.

Ou alors vous descendez une pente a une allure respectable dans un magnifique vallon, qui vous demande de l’admirer et soudain, le vent vous prend et vous jette subitement sur la voie opposee du traffic ou dans le fausse…

La situation la plus apprecie, c’est lorsqu’il vous frappe dans le dos. Vous passez de 5 a 35km/h en une dizaine de secondes sur une route a 10% mais vous vous apercevez que vos freins sont plutôt moues. C’est simple, a cette allure, s’arreter prendra autant de temps qu’un semi-tonne lance sur la voie express. Devant vous, le manque de visibilite alimente une imagination funeste.

Le manque de sommeil et l’impuissance ressentit, m’aura pousse a blamer les montagnes pour leur manque de cooperation a plusieurs reprises au cours de ces derniers jours. Ironiquement, le vent emportait au loin les mots dont je l’accusais. Delivre de cet enervement qui s’accumulait en moi, il était plus facile de reprendre l’ascension.

Bref, lorsque j’arrive enfin au poste douanier, je suis suffisamment epuise pour ne redouter aucune de ses questions et s’il m’expulse du territoire pour une quelconque raison, tres bien je serai loin de satane vent. Il me felicite pour avoir affronter le vent. « We d’un autre cote, j’ai pas bien le choix, c’est aujourd’hui ou jamais, mon petit gars ». Je lui repond par un sourire. Il se montre tres sympathique, je suis la procedure et 5 minutes plus tard, je suis de l’autre cote de la frontiere. Pour le coup, je remercie Sharen et Neil qui m’avaient donne une dizaine de dollars americains, ce qui m’a permit de payer les frais de traitement du dossier, cash!

La page de ma vie ecrite au canada vient finalement de se tourner. Trois annees de voyage, de rencontre et d’enrichissements personnels. Ce n’est pas vraiment le temps du bilan, j’ai devant moi une page blanche qui commence déjà a se remplir.



Malheureusement, le vent n’a pas de probleme a traverser la frontiere lui non plus. Histoire de relever le niveau, il y a des vaches qui se baladent librement un peu partout le long de la route. C’est tres rassurant de voir cet animal qui pese 500kilo vous suivre de regard vide sans trop savoir quoi faire. Pourvu qu’il ne leur pousse pas des cornes.

Je commence a avoir faim mais ce n’est pas le temps de s’arreter, de gros nuages se detachent des montagnes pour se diriger vers les plaines ou je suis. Les gouttes d’eau me frappent avec une violence impressionnante, je n’ose imaginer si c’était des grelons. Finalement, j’arrive a Babb et reste dans un cafe le temps que ne passe le crachin. Devant l’eclaircit, je tente l’atteindre la prochaine ville Saint Mary. Mais a mi-chemin, je realise que je vais finir trempe. Un rideau de pluie me separe de la ville. Je decide de bifurquer devant un signe clignotant indiquant la location de maison en bois rond. Je rencontre le receptionniste, Zac, 31 ans avec qui je sympathise progressivement. Il me propose d’utiliser la cuisine commune pour cuisiner et de rester jusqu’à la fin de journee car la tempete s’arretera a 21h. L’homme est un hippie, un vadrouilleur et un aventurier. Alors que nous faisons decouvrir a l’autre nos projets personnelles, j’entends le bruit cadence d’un pistolet dont on fait cracher les balles. Par reflexe, je regarde autour de moi, pour evaluer les angles morts. Le bois du batiment semble suffisamment epais pour arreter les balles. Voyant mon inconfort, il me rassure en me disant que ca doit etre quelqu’un qui s’amuse a tirer sur des conserves… En effet, je n’entends personne crier a la mort. Puis il se reprend en disant « Humm, ce n’est pas tres habituel que ca dure aussi longtemps ». Alors qu’il continu a parler, je me vois sur mon velo, au travers du regard du tireur, poste au sommet d’une falaise, me pointant avec son pistolet pour jouer ou parce qu’il est sous et BAM !

Au fils de nos discussion, je le trouve tres cultive et il m’apprend beaucoup sur ce pays que je connais mal. Je vois bien qu’il se creuse la cervelle pour m’offrir l’ensemble des connaissances qu’il possede et mes questions sont nombreuses. Le temps passe et la pluie se change en orage. Il fait maintenant nuit et je me retrouve avec un verre de vin californien dans la main et il m’offre une nuit dans un chalet loin des elements dechaines.

Quel magnifique premiere journee aux Etats-Unis, moi qui les pensait tous ecerveles !



---------------------



Have to be check for the quality of the english...




This day was challenging as morally and physically. The wind was still blowing on the Waterton National Park when I headed to the border. It's three days that it does not stop day and night. The wind is an average of 50km / h with gusts to 80 km / h. Difficult to rest when gusts twisted the trees and their leaves are screaming. In the shelter of a big tree, or protected by a heap of earth, wind happens to chart its way to me. Wrap me in a tarpaulin cutting wind and camouflaged by my sleeping bag, it does not really cold. But it is the noise, even with balls "Who is it! "I mean the elements of wild around me. And then there are those moments where you wake you up suddenly because of a broken arm and strikes you in the night.

By day, it is not really better. It is very irritating when you climb a steep side by bike and in the midst of the effort, you stopped a flurry net and continues to hit you for several long seconds, holding you there. It's a bit like someone shouting you a figure.

Or you go down a slope has a respectable pace in a beautiful valley, which asks you to admire and suddenly the wind takes you and throws you suddenly on the opposite lane of traffic or in the wrong ...

The most appreciated situation is when it hits you in the back. You spend 5 to 35km / h in ten seconds on a road 10%, but you notice that your brakes are pretty pouts. It's simple, looks like this, to stop take as long as a half-ton launches on the expressway. Before you, the lack of visibility feeds a fatal imagination.

Sleep deprivation and powerlessness felt, will push me to blame the mountains for their lack of cooperation several times in recent days. Ironically, the wind carried off the words I accused. Issued this feeling nervous that accumulated in me, it was easier to resume the climb.

In short, when I finally arrived at the customs post, I am exhausted enough to not fear any of his questions and he expelled me from the territory for any reason, I will be very well away from Satane wind. He congratulated me for having to face the wind. "We on the other side, I have not much choice, it is not today, my little guy." I answers him with a smile. It shows very friendly, I am the procedure and 5 minutes later, I'm on the other side of the border. For once, I thank Neil and Sharen who had given me ten US dollars, which allowed me to pay the application processing fee.

The page in my life written in canada has finally turning. Three years travel, meeting, personal enrichment. It's not really the time of the balance sheet, I have before me a blank page that is already beginning to fill up.

Unfortunately the wind has no problem to cross the border either. History of raising the level, there are cows that roam freely everywhere along the road. It is very reassuring to see this animal that weighs 500kilo blank stare you follow without knowing what to do. Provided he does not push their horns.

I start to get hungry, but this is not the time to stop, heavy clouds come off mountains to move towards the plains where I am. Drops of water hit me with impressive violence, I can not imagine if they were hailstones. Finally, I manage to Babb and remains in a cafe by the time goes by the drizzle. Lightens the front, I try to reach the next town Saint Mary. But halfway, I realized that I will finish quenching. A rain curtain separated me from the city. I decided to branch off to a flashing sign indicating the log home rental. I met the receptionist, Zac, 31 with whom I sympathize gradually. It offers me to use the common kitchen to cook and stay until the end of the day because the storm will stop a 21h. Man is a hippie, a rover and an adventurer. As we discover the other has our personal projects, I hear the sound of a gun pace which is made spit balls. By reflex, I look around me, to evaluate the blind spots. The wood of the building seems thick enough to stop bullets. Seeing my discomfort, he reassures me, saying that AC should be someone who enjoys shooting at cans ... Indeed, I do not hear anyone screaming to death. Then he resumed saying "Hmm, this is not very common that it lasts as long." While he continued to speak, I see myself on my bike, through the eyes of the shooter, position on top of a cliff, pointing at me with his pistol to play or because he is under and BAM!

The son of our discussion, I find it very cultivates and he teaches me a lot about this country that I know wrong. I see he is widening his brains to give me all the knowledge he possesses and questions are numerous. Time passes and the rain turns into a storm. Now it's dark and I find myself with a glass of California wine in hand and gives me a night in a cottage away from harsh elements.

What a wonderful first day in the US, who thought me all giddy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



30th October 2015

Safe journey
Just saying hello my friend. good to see your fairing well and making progress on your life journey. May you find the nicest of people and the best times of your life and of course(-: PEACE
6th November 2015

Yeah
That great to have some news from you, Glenn! Thanks for your message! I didn't make any post since a wild. I will try to post some new soon. We are at Zion National Park. It is beautiful, I let you check that on the web. Yesterday, long hike to the top of a narrow peak. It was snowing, it was foggy when we arrived at the top but half an hour later, the cloud were just sticking on the mountain around us. Completely mystic landscape. (name of the trail "angel landing", 3h hike) Today, long hike (4 or 5h, 8 miles long, 2148 feet of elevation from the start, name "observation point"), was amazing. I go back to the campground, making some potatoes on the fire with some cheese and ham. Tomorrow we leave the park direction LAS VEGAS. I gona be billionaire! I wish you a great time with your bro, Peace

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb