Safari continues......


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper
July 7th 2016
Published: July 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

And so the expedition goes on.

Today high up into the the Rockies to Lake Maligne, a renowned beauty spot. Well to be frank it was very scenic but it was a bit like a motorway severe station crowded with Japanese and other oriental tourists. Joy went for a brief walk while I had a quick nap. Well we have been on the move for days and the huge 4 by 4 we now are using is like driving a truck. My excuse anyway. Joy wasn't too bothered.

We then moved on to Maligne Canyon.

But on the way....... What did we spot? Well more like what is causing the traffic jam? A mother bear and her cub in the undergrowth.

We didn't get too good a view as the Japanese crowdead around them. Joy went to check it out first but was very cautious, instantly obeying the bloke seemingly in charge in 'get back the bear is coming'. He was after all a bus driver! I joined the throng, suggesting to one of the Japs that he should commit hare kare and feed himself to the bear in the cause of a decent photo. He refused point blank. No wonder they lost the war. So my bear photos aren't great. Yet! I have bought some honey and will be smearing my bumper. Or Joy?

So then the Canyon. Absolutely spectacular. At the moment the water is low and still the waterfalls are tremendous. In the spring they must be something else.

Had an amusing incident in the gift shop. Asked the assistant if she would take a stone bear out of the display cabinet as I really liked it and would may be like to buy it. She willingly obliged, no trouble at all. 'Ok, yes it is just what I want. How much? ' '$28000 sir. Bill Gates bought the last one!

I mumbled excuses and left. '

Advertisement



8th July 2016

Souvenier shop
I have had a similar problem in Port Isaac.. I was charged 10 pounds fifty for a Doc Martin mug. Good bear picture.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb