Vancouver to Jasper by Via Rail - Solo


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper
September 1st 2010
Published: September 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

75%!o(MISSING)ff Via rail tickets. Who could resist?

I drove through the Rockies in the fall of 2008; while seeing the Rockies in all four season is on my wish list this trip was entirely about the rail journey. But, having driven from Vancouver to Jasper and Banff to Vancouver, I departed well aware that this isn’t the iconic route - only traveled by the much more expensive Rocky Mountaineer.

The train from Vancouver to Jasper leaves in the evening, but doesn’t seen to move beyond Kamloops (~300 km from Vancouver) until the next morning.

On the trip to Jasper, I bought a cabin for 1 ticket as the economy seats were sold out. My first impression of the single sleeper cabin was that it would be an isolated journey. So I happily took the first opportunity to escape for a welcome drink in a lounge further up the train. My fellow travelers were friendly and chatty; all international (mostly American) and mostly seniors. I found myself as an unofficial tour guide answering questions about food and weather, though the Americans were a bit startled when I first gave temperatures in Celsius - fortunately, one of them knew how to convert to Fahrenheit.

Meals were another occasion to mingle with other passengers. And the service at breakfast left me imagining I was traveling in the heyday of the Rockies. But the food and service at lunch made me reconsider breakfast as a fluke.

The sleeper class also had several lounges and 3 upper viewing bubbles, but it was hard to find seats there.

But, by the time we had arrived in Jasper, 1 hour early, I had gained a new appreciation for my cabin - curling up in bed while the train chugged along was the most comfortable way I have ever traveled. And while I started the journey with some trepidation about the prison inspired bed and toilet in one room described and pictured on the Vial Rail site. My room was more modern, the toilet was better camouflaged as a seat, and the extra room to wash and dress was put to good use.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb